We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrilled with this hotel”
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Although I'm posting a bit belatedly, Hotel Harmony deserves the praise. Its location at the heart of the historic district is ideal; easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do. Right from our initial e-mail to request for reservations, the staff was responsive, friendly and helpful. Although we had not ordered any special amenity packages, we had mentioned while booking the room that the trip was in celebration of our anniversary. The staff must have noted this, because we arrived to find our bed sprinkled with rose petals. We stayed in a "luxurious room," one level above their least expensive. Our room was very clean, quite spacious and in smart, modern style. The bathroom was handsome and we had none of the issues with water on the floor mentioned by others.

Some posters have complained of no coffee or tea makers in the rooms, but we found the folks in the bar were happy to give us a tray with teapot, cups, etc., to take up to our room every time we asked. Others have mentioned there are no hot breakfast items, but they are available on request. I had noticed waffles and eggs on the room service menu, and asked to be served them in the dining room at breakfast. The eggs were even attractively plated with an artistic garnish of greens and herbs. This sort of attention to detail and to their guests' enjoyment makes this hotel stand out as one we would be happy to recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCQTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2009

This was our second stay in this hotel. Rooms are spacious, with outstanding bathroom.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The location is ideal for visiting the town center ( Gravensteen, Vrijdagmarkt, Graslei, Patershol).The buffet breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leporelloBrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I've already recommended this hotel to friends. where simplicity meets history. Not for anybody

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank directorate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Good value for money. The rooms are very modern and very tidy. Only the elevator is very slow. Please book parking spot in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DessyRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

The Hotel Harmony is conveniently located near the center of Gent and is close to the tram stops making it easy to get around.
Have stayed there numerous times over the last year and each room is oversized. The design is modern and varies from room to room. All rooms have showers, most have a large tub, frequently jetted.
As it has a limited number of rooms, it has a very intimate feel. The staff are always attentive and pleasant.
A cold breakfast is include with a good range of cheeses, cold meats, pastries and cereals. No other meals are available, although there is a bar.
Unfortunately, few rooms have a tea or coffee service - the one time I requested one, it was provided without additional charge.
Internet (wi-fi and wired) is provided for 10 euros for 24 hours - that is 24 hours of usage, not a 24 period of availability - the speed is relatively slow, however.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

The hotel's location is right on the canal and within walking distance to everything you want and need to see in Ghent. The service we received was prompt, attentive and professional. However, DO NOT stay in room #1!!!

We were there for just a night, so we didn't bother making a fuss about changing rooms, but room #1 will NOT provide you a good night sleep given that the walls are paper-thin. We heard every footstep in the hallway and room(s) above us; we heard the flushing of toilets and running water, drawers closing; and the conversations that took place at the front desk and in the hallway. There was a gap between the floor and the shower stall which resulted in water running all over the tiled shower room and into the wood flooring of the sleeping area. The front desk staff was prompt in providing us extra towels as we used all the other towels to wipe the floors. The room looks nice upon entrance, but a well-functioning room must be just as important.

Breakfast was mediocre.

This hotel is rated 4-star. From the numerous 4-star hotels I've stayed in, this one is incorrectly rated in my books.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I spent ages looking for a hotel in Ghent, and in the end I decided to go for broke and book the Hotel Harmony, which was at that time number one on the Trip Advisor listings for Ghent.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, right on one of the attractive canals in Ghent, with the trendy Patershol district behind. Although it is a big city, the centre of Ghent is quiet and peaceful and it is very easy to walk to the main sights or restaurants in the evening. The nearest tram stop, by the castle, is no more than a minute or so away.

The check in was friendly and efficient. We booked a cosy room, which turned out to be on the ground floor opening onto a small courtyard. The weather was very cold during our stay in Ghent, and it was reassuring to know that we had a warm and comfortable room to which we could return. I would presume that the temperature would be adjusted downwards in the summer. The room was spacious and the wall mounted satellite TV had both BBC1 and BBC2. The electronic safe was a real bonus, but I didn't use the internet at all.

The toilet/shower room was all in one and could get a little slippy, but the towel rail meant that it quickly dried. One small gripe...it was a pity that there was no separate light for the toilet, meaning that a visit to the loo in the night woke my room mate.

The breakfast was a generous cold buffet with pastries, jam, cereal, cold meat, cheese and fish. There was an egg boiling machine and a toaster. Scrambled, poached and fried eggs were available on request, and you could also ask for waffles, which were delicious.

The hotel is not a cheap option, but I am pleased that I chose it, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxDulcibellaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 38 in Ghent
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: $152 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing