We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy bolthole in charming city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Watford,UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Cosy bolthole in charming city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a lovely stay in Hotel Harmony . Our room had a balcony over the canal and a huge bath in the corner as well as a separate walk-in shower. We were very happy with the location, parking and service . We enjoyed the little snacks served at 6pm although the bar itself was somewhat souless compared to the many nearby vibrant options.
Breakfast was ample . We made full use of a City Card for the museums and also enjoyed a guided city walk " Nibbling at Ghent " .
The hotel's main selling point is the very central location . Close to all the main sights, shops and restuarants. We had looked at B and B options but they were not as well located and for a winter break this was a big priority .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    236
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
103
564
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely welcome, all very efficient and straightforward. Thought our rooms were more modern than I was expecting - imagined more traditional with a twist from the website. Rooms and bathrooms were very large. Hotel felt more like an up market B&B despite a dining room and bar - felt a little characterless in fact. But, great location, clean, great sized rooms. Pillows weren't that comfortable and there was a lot of noise above my room but great apart from that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Our room was gorgeous and extremely comfortable. Our windows overlooked the canal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was spectacular and he hotel lounge served great drinks and appetizers. The hotel itself was beautiful and very centrally located. We have stayed in several of the hotels in Ghent but from now on, we will always stay here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Breinn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a great stay. The staff were always friendly and service was quick and helpful. The rooms are clean and modern, although beds are on the soft side. Breakfast was delicious and a great selection. Central location

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, some have jacuzzis, some have views, so it is worth inquiring about spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugsy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Charming staff. Very welcoming. Makes you want to go back. Great variety of rooms. They made my husband's birthday feel special. Great attention to detail. Very welcoming bar and a great spot to drink, read and relax after an enriching visit to the neighbourhood. Try the wonderful hot chocolate - you will never forget this wonderful experience.
We stayed 4 nights and did not want to leave. We will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a view to the canal or get a jacuzzi with view to the courtyard. Try the swimming pool - wea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a lovely time. All of the staff were polite, helpful and very friendly. The hotel is modern but with hints of an historic past. Rooms are clean, comfortable with all mod cons. We loved the balcony and large windows giving a terrific view of the canal and the Gent skyline. At night the church spires are illuminated and looked beautiful.
The breakfast was one of the best we've had............. we will return!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treeloverslincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I only stayed one night but everything about this delightful establishment was memorable. The staff are friendly, helpful and smiling, the room was stylish, tasteful and charming. The location superb, the views excellent, so close to so much history. To step outside and see the Counts Castle is awesome. Local restaurants of all types abound, and the breakfast service was excellent in the hotel, they made me superb eggs and bacon without demur. I'm very grateful to my contacts who recommended it.
I was on business and its so nice to find a relaxing hotel where function is almost secondary to style, and I'm thinking of taking my wife there as I know she will be blown away by it. (Or maybe I should take my girlfriend..hmmm)

Room Tip: They're all good from what I can tell, and all different which makes a pleasant change!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir-Ranulf-Fiennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Property: Hotel Harmony
Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing