We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel in a marvelous city”
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A perfect hotel in a marvelous city”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The Harmony was a one-night stop on our trip from Amsterdam to Paris and was a perfect selection. The modern room in a botique hotel was not over the top, but was very large and pleasant. Location was perfect ... just outside the congested historic area which made driving to the hotel much easier. We had reserved a parking spot in their underground garage which saved hunting for a parking garage. The staff was very accommodating and breakfast was very good. All in all, a nice spot!

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edlexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    258
    30
    11
    3
See reviews for
122
611
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Situated directly on one of the most picturesque canals, the Harmony is away from the bustle of the touristy squares but at the same time it is within a minutes walk of most of the best restaurants and some of the "must do" pubs like the the Waterhuis (200+ beers) and the Dreupelkot gin house (150+gins!) .
The hotel staff were absolutely brilliant - great attitude to going the extra mile to make our stay even more memorable and genuinely "pleased to see you" friendliness. Rooms very good (walk in shower, king size bed etc). Only thing I could have wished for was tea and coffee facilities - room service was always available but sometimes you just want to make your own cuppa. Buffet breakfast was vast, fresh and with a couple of cooked options (bacon, eggs, crepes). Can't speak highly enough of this hotel - its second on my all time favourites list to the Golden Well in Prague.
(PS I have never been to a friendlier city than Ghent and would recommend this as an ideal weekend break from the UK.)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Right on the canalside in the centre. Easy walking to local attractions. Great breakfast and friendly service.

The hotel is in an old building but has been extensively modernised. Great room with Spa Bath

Room Tip: Great for a city break in Belgium
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brussels-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This is a very good hotel in an ideal location in the old centre of Gent.

We stayed for a week in what the hotel describes as an "Exceptional Room" (25). It truly was a very good room, very large by town centre standards and beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds. Two things to be aware of if you choose this room. Firstly it is at the back of the hotel in a partly separate building, so there is no river view and it is rather dark. Secondly, the bathroom arrangement is very stylish but a bit eccentric; glass doors and a corner bath/shower that requires some athleticism to get in or out.

The staff were very helpful, often going the extra mile to assist. Breakfast was good, a cold buffet during the week with some hot alternatives at the weekend. No evening meal is available but that really doesn't matter - there are at least ten good restaurants within two minutes walk of the door. Karel de Stoute was the best, T'Klockhuis was OK/good/simple, Petit Restaurant was poor.

The real star attraction of the Harmony is its location. It is a modern, designer style hotel right at the heart of the medieval centre of the city. Straight out of the door is the quayside with all the sights within five minutes walk. It's truly stunning. Despite this convenience however it is very quiet and peaceful. Amazingly it has a garage! But you really will need a satnav to find your way there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haacht, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This hotel lies in a very beautiful street lined with old buldings and has a very central location. The Castle "Gravensteen" is just around the corner and the other sights are also nearby. Also the hotel lies in the district "Patershol", which contains a lot of good restaurants.
Staff was very friendly, good breakfast buffet. Internet access was 5 € for 2 hours.
Nice and spacious room. A pity that our bathroom was very small. The washbasin was even situated outside the bathroom. For a € 150, this could have been better.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,TX
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband and I visited Ghent for 2 days in February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Harmony. Our room (#41) was absolutely perfect. We had a wonderful top floor lookout most of the sites Ghent has to offer as well as a nice canal view. The room was quite comfortable with all the amenities mentioned on their website. WiFi was available for a cost. The castle was literally right around the corner from the hotel and the belfry, St.Bavo's Church and other famous Ghent sites were within a few blocks walking distance. Breakfast was delicious with an assortment of breads, cheeses, cold meats, yogurts with toppings to choose, hard boiled eggs and cereals. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Ghent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ve2Travel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

The canal-side location of the hotel is superb ---(we stayed in room 31 which has a wonderful view of Ghent). It is centrally located and a short stroll from all the 'sights'. The room was spotless and comfortable.

Tram no 1 will get you from the Station to the Hotel and costs just 1.20 euros each.

The staff are professional yet friendly and the owner clearly takes great pride in his superb hotel.

There was an enormous selection on offer for breakfast and the service again was excellent.

The swimming pool looked wonderful and is far more impressive than the website and brochure photos suggest.There is a seating area around the pool and another open air courtyard in which to relax. We shall return in the summer months!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Property: Hotel Harmony
Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing