We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pictoresque medieval Flemish town”

iTours - Ghent Guides
Ranked #1 of 10 Food & Drink in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ITours, part of Ghent Guides, offers independent, informative and interactive tours to individuals visiting Ghent. We will entertain you with all kind of stories from the past and the present and will add personal and practical information to make your stay in Ghent even more pleasant. We offer public tours, free tours, bike tours and private tours!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pictoresque medieval Flemish town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Highly recommend a weekend visit to Ghent, a charming medieval Flemish town that used to be the 2nd largest in Europe after Paris between years 1,000 -1,500 ! Beautifully preserved old buildings, canals, Gravensteen castle and the magnificent St. Baaf's cathedral.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was tough tour... but excellent...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our tour lasted for about 4 hours, not only because of extended insights in history of Ghent, but because of excessive walk several people in our group got problems with their feet and had to buy a new shoes to change the old ones... We had an excellent guide who had not only a lot of knowledge about Ghent history but also good sense of humor, he told us a lot of interesting facts and funny stories, shown us beautiful historical buildings, gave us taste a local smoked meat, cheese and the finest chocolate in the world...I would recommend it anyone who visit Ghent for the first time...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Larissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We had 11 people in our tour and the guide jumped between French and English flawlessly. We spent lots of time discussing history and viewing the city hall. We did climb steps and walked for the full 2+ hours (not strenuous) There is nothing fancy about this tour just good information and a great overview of Ghents history.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SomeHelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,059 reviews
549 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Just enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The whole thing was a pleasure,did not dislike any thing except a little rain{2002}

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The tour started at the information centre by the Castle, on our tour we had english and spanish speakers and the guide flipped between the two languages effortlessly. The tour laste about two and a quarter hours and took in sights outside and in. It is a good way of orientating yourself with the city and learning as well. Very reasonably priced and a sensible start at 2.30 in the afternoon, but you do have to book.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Donkey3653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iTours - Ghent Guides also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to iTours - Ghent Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing