We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yvonne Taylor / Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yvonne Taylor / Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel was conveniently placed a ten minute walk away from Ghent Dampoor station and equally only a ten minute walk in to the lovely centre of Ghent . The lady on reception was extremely helpful and spoke fluent English . Nothing was a problem you just have to ask , she even rang the rail stations to help us plan our trips out . The food was another 10 out of 10 along with the rooms also 10 out of 10 . Comfortable , modern and very clean . I would recommend this excellent hotel to all .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneTaylor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    254
    22
    1
    5
See reviews for
121
312
11
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

There is a lot of hidden charges, stayed for four weeks and ended up paying 600 more with all hidden charges, read carefully small script and terms of agriement.
Very poor cleaning, fast internet , which they will charge you for, disconnects from time to time and as not as fast as you would expect. Parking at the hotel is very tight, takes some time and danger of dameging the car to get it in place without scratches. lunch packs are not replacing brekfast, they will still charge you for brekfast even if you not take it, but if you ask for lunch pack instead of brekfast they will charge you for both anyway.
NT worth the money to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing rear are ok, but in general there are better offers for less money around there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sergey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our second stay at the Castelnou. The first one was 30 years ago but standards have been maintained & in some respects improved (warmer, less 'corporate' décor and furniture, for example). A spacious, comfortable & attractive apartment was the ideal base to visit an attractive and underrated town. Reception staff were extremely cordial & helpful. Only disappointment was the performance of an unsympathetic & lazy waiter at dinner on the final night. We would certainly stay here again. Highly recommended for the independent traveller.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a good view over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elbasilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were a family group of five with 3 standard rooms on an overnight stop to Amsterdam.
We did not know Ghent and were delighted to discover this beautiful town within comfortable walking distance of this hotel. We were happy to have good and secure parking, spotless accommodation, comfortable beds and an outstanding service from all the staff.
I left my I pod behind by mistake and had messages from the hotel immediately and the offer to return it to the UK by post: how exceptional is that?
We would all return to visit Ghent in more depth on a future occasion and would certainly not choose any other destination to stay than this Hotel. Thank you all for your legendary service!

Room Tip: we chose a standard room which was fine for overnight, more than adequate.For longer stays, the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MED41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely accommodation! Comfortable beds, lovely bedding and very clean - bliss. We visited as a family and had our own apartment very pleasantly appointed with everything you needed for a very enjoyable visit to Ghent. The staff, especially the lady on reception, we're friendly and helpful. Secure parking is available and the apartments are within a short walking distance to the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Very good sleep quality in this hotel, stylish modern decor. The staff were very helpful and gave us advice about local transport. Breakfast was ok, nothing wonderful. The bar was good and plenty of space to sit in the lobby. The hotel is a short bus ride from the centre and a pleasant walk if the weather is good. We did not use the kitchen facilities but I can see that this is a great idea.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TOGsNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed for three nights on our way back from visiting friends in Germany. Hotel completely lived up to all expectations from previous Tripadvisor reviews. Loved the whole apartment / hotel concept! Good location, great food within the hotel; both at dinner and breakfast, friendly, helpful staff throughout (Helena on reception especially was instrumental in providing an excellent parking space in the underground garage), clean, comfortable. Just excellent! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in a second floor room (205), immediately diagonally opposite the lift, and overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tainorire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Property: Aparthotel Castelnou
Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing