We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with a twist” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Castelnou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A hotel with a twist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We drove to the hotel, and was easy to find because it's on the outskirts of the city and parking was easy, we managed to find a place right outside.
We had to pay at the meter,and if you press the yellow button first you can get 24 hrs for 3 euros.
Checkin was easy, our room was on the second floor (206).
The rooms were large and had all the amenities, coffee maker, microwave, etc,it's like staying in a suite.
My only complaint would be, you could hear every noise in the rooms above and either side, and my wife was woken up at 2am by our neighbours, the problem is the flooring.
The staff were nice and willing to help with directions,they even loaned me a phone charger.
The breakfast was average but plentiful.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    243
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
115
300
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Clean, comfortable, spacious and all you need to cook a little evening meal or breaksfast if you so choose. Only 15mn's walk form historical centre. There is a restaurant attached and it is of good standards.

Room Tip: Room at the back was very quiet. Don't know about others. Other guests were quiet and considerat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nouaze3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Inside the entrance doors it does not appear to be a hotel with just an enquiry window. However, once you have been registered by the welcoming receptionist it all comes together. Huge living room/kitchen with every convenience. Separate bedroom with comfortable bed and a fully equipped bathroom. The restaurant serves a good breakfast and a very reasonable dinner.

One warning - unless you are very hungry don't have a starter! We were unable to finish our superb main courses because we had indulged too much in a huge first course.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noproblem75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break to celebrate our wedding anniversary (along with our 12 month old daughter). The hotel has been rennovated within the last couple of years and it shows as the decor is crisp, clean and modern. The rooms were huge and well equiped and our 12 month old loved having the space to play.

The hotel is located in a reasonable position with the city centre about 15 minutes walk mainly alongside a canal.

We got a friendly welcome on arrival and the service was faultless throughout our stay. There was a good continental selection for breakfast including eggs and bacon. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and the food was good. We were also relieved that the staff didnt seem phased by our noisy 12 month old's dinner exploits!

Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Ghent is a beautiful city!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights and all I can say is that the Aparthotel Castelnou is a hidden gem. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly our room was excellent and had everything built in, from a full size fridge, ceramic hob, microwave, utensils, yes, even the kitchen sink! There was also a large flat screen TV with 20 English channels. The room was made up every day and like the hotel, was spotless. Even the continental breakfast was good. There is plenty of parking outside on the road but for peace of mind there is secure parking within the hotel; however, there is a small charge for this, which I cannot grumble about. There are regular buses into town but you can walk there within 15 mins. I can guarantee that you will not be disappointed if you stay at this very unusual and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkesChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you need a clean, uncomplicated place to stay in Ghent, you can't do any better than this place. The apartments are lovely and clean, parking is secure and the breakfast is all any breakfast needs to be.

Throw in the super-helpful staff, and you have a winning combination.

The centre of Ghent is an easy 10 minute stroll from the hotel, and getting in and out of Ghent for day trips is easy as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here in September. The room was setup as a apartment style. The 2 twin beds were in a separate room from the main room. The main had the TV, couch, sink, etc. While the bedroom had only beds. I was initially worried about being on the front of the hotel on the 1st floor due to the possible noise. But, the room was very quiet and I never had any issue. The room was very clean.
The hotel is a short walk from downtown. And even a shorter walk to the bus station that can take you downtown. The front desk has bus passes for purchase for less amount than it would be on the bus.
The Staff was very helpful and polite. I spoke only English and they had no issues with that. Upon arrival I was greeted with a smile and a lot of information about the city. The front desk would frequently print out information for me an other guests.
The restaurant was also good. It has a good selection of food and it all tasted fresh.
Overall I would stay here again when I return next year :)
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet and relaxing stay in Gent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaboodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Property: Aparthotel Castelnou
Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing