We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate modern apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spotlessly clean, modern apartment with decent kitchen and bathroom. Ours had two single beds pushed together so you might want to request a double. Coffee machine, decent glasses and the usuals in the kitchen. Quiet end of town but walkable to the centre. Not cheap but fantastic quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 676 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

The aparthotel is situated just outside of the main tourist area (or the city). It is approximately a 15 minute walk to the historic centre. One may think this walk is partially through a less comfortable area but we certainly had no problems at all.

The rooms are absolutely brilliant. It seems the whole aparthotel is new and the rooms and bathroom reflect this. Lots of UK TV channels as well, just in case you spend the night in or get up early :-)

Breakfast is very nice as well, taken in the restaurant area, which again is new and very clean.

Staff that we met were all fantastic and you can park right outside the hotel for 3 euros a day, free on Sunday.

On the whole, I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentShortbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Aparthotel Castelnou with our 9-month old daughter. The room was excellent as was having the Dali restaurant and bar downstairs. The hotel is about a 15-minute walk into the centre of town with a supermarket approximately 10-minutes walk away. There are 3 or 4 buses that leave from Gent-Sint-Pieters station to the apartment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_Mc_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The size of the apartment is amazing. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. The only complaint we had was that the breakfast was very ordinary. Coffee lacked punch. However, had lunch there and the food was good. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ours over looked the back. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chienee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We only stayed one night, and had some trouble making our way over here by bus from the train station. It was our fault, but make sure to ask for directions on whdownfall for me was that the rooms weren't as clean as the reviews led me to believe. They were at buses to take if you decide to take the bus from Gent St-Pieters station. The rooms were acceptable- not dirty, but didn't feel clean, staff friendly, and the breakfast was your standard fare. It was easy to walk to the historic center of town. The rooms were spacious, two twin beds pushed together for the double and had amenities like a water kettle, dishes and etc. .

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank llpooppob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were very surprised by the size of the apartment and the facilities provided. We booked a car parking space and the car never moved for 3 days as it was easy walking into all the sites in Ghent. Breakfast was excellent. We were not very keen on the food in Belgium so having our own kitchen was great for fixing meals.

Room Tip: We has a room at the front but it was very quiet because of the double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50something54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed for just two nights here, but it was a perfect base for exploring. The check in was very efficient and friendly, with good advice on different places to eat in the evening. The room was clean, well set out and incredibly spacious. The coffee machine, fridge, microwave etc were all great ideas, but really for longer term stays I guess. Breakfast was very good, with a lovely buffet, professionally staffed and the perfect start to the day. I went for the no cancellation, so that I got breakfast included.
It's a professional hotel, with excellent staff and just a few minutes walk from old town. Perfectly situated for Flanders, Brugge and moving about on tour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Countryculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,025 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: $106 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing