We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Rackenford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed for just two nights here, but it was a perfect base for exploring. The check in was very efficient and friendly, with good advice on different places to eat in the evening. The room was clean, well set out and incredibly spacious. The coffee machine, fridge, microwave etc were all great ideas, but really for longer term stays I guess. Breakfast was very good, with a lovely buffet, professionally staffed and the perfect start to the day. I went for the no cancellation, so that I got breakfast included.
It's a professional hotel, with excellent staff and just a few minutes walk from old town. Perfectly situated for Flanders, Brugge and moving about on tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Countryculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    251
    21
    1
    5
See reviews for
120
307
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for a citytrip in april and were pleasently supprised. The reviews on this hotel were good, so we also had high expectations for our visit. We booked a hotel room and not an appartment, but still had a small kitchen with a good coffee machine, nice bed, large TV. We had a kind of little tea table with 2 chairs and also 2 relax chairs in front of the TV (something you don't find very often in city hotels). Besides that the room was very clean, had large windows, nothing was broken and everything looked quite new. In the morning there was a nice breakfast with fresh fruit, croissants, differtent types of bread, cornflakes etc. The hotel offers an garage, but we parked on the road just next to the hotel for only € 3,- per day (you do have to buy a ticket and change that daily though) which was good as well. To walk to the heart of the city centre from the hotel will take you about 15 minutes, but a bus stops just a short walk away from the hotel and you can buy a 10-way ticket at the hotel for just € 9,- so we decided to go for the easy option.
Overall a pleasent stay and we would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to pay a visit to Ghent and doesn't mind not to stay in the heart of the city. We would come here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
461 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Not the closest hotel to the centre of town but a very pleasant 10 minute walk along the river. Friendly staff who are more than happy to help with enquiries were always available.

The room was very large and recently refurbished. It was so clean I wouldn't be surprised if we were the first people to have stayed there. The free wifi was fast enough for my needs - email, web browsing etc. We were in room 309 which overlooked the garden and car park.

Initially I was worried about the parking as my van is long and tall but there was plenty of clearance and the car park was walled-in on all sides.

Breakfast was better than most places I have stayed in. Everything was quickly topped up and was to a good standard.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road might be noisy. Rooms on the opposite side overlook the gardens and car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had four night stay at Aparthotel Castelnou from 12th to 16th April 2013. Fulfilled our expectations
in most aspects. Very quiet area, nothing in locality as regards bars etc and about 15-20 mins walk into centre. Well appointed room, nice bathroom and kitchenette. Would recommend buying a 10 journey travel pass at reception, 9 euros - better value than the Ghent city card which seemed expensive to us, unless of course you intended to visit all the museums, castles etc etc.
Good breakfast which sustained us through the day. Local bus service just 200 yds over canal bridge, does not run as often as I thought it might having travelled extensively throughout Europe, but does keep to the timetable. Coffee machine great, although only supplied 4 pods, and additional ones were 50 cents each from restaurant, which we thought a bit mean.
Overall though a relaxing stay in a pleasant city, not as 'touristy' as Bruges but plenty to see and do nevertheless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howzatWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The rooms are big and clean with a lounge/kitchenette. There is plenty of space for four people with the double bedroom and bed settee in the lounge. We arrived by train and it was about ten minutes walk from Gent Damport Station. The staff were very helpful and it was another ten minutes walk to the old town. The buffet breakfast was fine although a little uninspiring but there was enough choice for our stay of three nights. The hotel restaurant was pretty good for our first evening's as there are many restaurants around the hotel and we didn't feel like walking far on a chilly evening. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essextwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had heard of this hotel thru friends and family and my own experince was quite pleasant. The rooms are big and airy, the service good and discreet, and the kitchenette is just right. It's location is just right, neither at the city centre nor too far away from it. Breakfast buffet is simple. Too many schools nearby and parking is a problem in the vicinity

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013 in a twin room and found this hotel to be good value for money. The room was very clean, quiet and pretty spacious, and had a little kitchenette with espresso machine and hot pot.
The staff is very nice and helpful, they gave us all information we needed. Upon arrival we received free map and small city guide.
Historical center is only 15 minutes walk, and the closest train station is Gent Dampoort (10 minutes walk) which we used to go to Bruges. If you go to/from Brussels then you need to go to Gent St. Pieters station, but you can take the public bus (all numbers from 70-78) and the ride is 10 minutes long (it costs 2€).
The breakfast is very good as well, with large variety of products.
You have to keep in mind that the hotel is situated in residential area and there aren't shops, bars or restaurants nearby (except hotel's Dali restaurant).
The only complaint is about the bed which we didn't find very comfortable (but that might be because we have some spine/back issues and it is not easy to find comfortable beds for us).
Anyway I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pantaghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Property: Aparthotel Castelnou
Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing