We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aparthotel Castelnou
Nearby Hotels
$140
$137
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$123
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$117
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$175
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveler rating
396
297
25
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
297
25
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate bedroomapartment hotelminute walkdining tablea small kitchen areacity centrecoffee machinesecure parkingsitting roommain centreself cateringparking on sitescrambled eggs and bacongent dampoortgreat place to staycomfortable bedsbus stop
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 726 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Not the closest hotel to the centre of town but a very pleasant 10 minute walk along the river. Friendly staff who are more than happy to help with enquiries were always available.

The room was very large and recently refurbished. It was so clean I wouldn't be surprised if we were the first people to have stayed there. The free wifi was fast enough for my needs - email, web browsing etc. We were in room 309 which overlooked the garden and car park.

Initially I was worried about the parking as my van is long and tall but there was plenty of clearance and the car park was walled-in on all sides.

Breakfast was better than most places I have stayed in. Everything was quickly topped up and was to a good standard.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road might be noisy. Rooms on the opposite side overlook the gardens and car park.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had four night stay at Aparthotel Castelnou from 12th to 16th April 2013. Fulfilled our expectations
in most aspects. Very quiet area, nothing in locality as regards bars etc and about 15-20 mins walk into centre. Well appointed room, nice bathroom and kitchenette. Would recommend buying a 10 journey travel pass at reception, 9 euros - better value than the Ghent city card which seemed expensive to us, unless of course you intended to visit all the museums, castles etc etc.
Good breakfast which sustained us through the day. Local bus service just 200 yds over canal bridge, does not run as often as I thought it might having travelled extensively throughout Europe, but does keep to the timetable. Coffee machine great, although only supplied 4 pods, and additional ones were 50 cents each from restaurant, which we thought a bit mean.
Overall though a relaxing stay in a pleasant city, not as 'touristy' as Bruges but plenty to see and do nevertheless.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howzatWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The rooms are big and clean with a lounge/kitchenette. There is plenty of space for four people with the double bedroom and bed settee in the lounge. We arrived by train and it was about ten minutes walk from Gent Damport Station. The staff were very helpful and it was another ten minutes walk to the old town. The buffet breakfast was fine although a little uninspiring but there was enough choice for our stay of three nights. The hotel restaurant was pretty good for our first evening's as there are many restaurants around the hotel and we didn't feel like walking far on a chilly evening. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essextwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had heard of this hotel thru friends and family and my own experince was quite pleasant. The rooms are big and airy, the service good and discreet, and the kitchenette is just right. It's location is just right, neither at the city centre nor too far away from it. Breakfast buffet is simple. Too many schools nearby and parking is a problem in the vicinity

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013 in a twin room and found this hotel to be good value for money. The room was very clean, quiet and pretty spacious, and had a little kitchenette with espresso machine and hot pot.
The staff is very nice and helpful, they gave us all information we needed. Upon arrival we received free map and small city guide.
Historical center is only 15 minutes walk, and the closest train station is Gent Dampoort (10 minutes walk) which we used to go to Bruges. If you go to/from Brussels then you need to go to Gent St. Pieters station, but you can take the public bus (all numbers from 70-78) and the ride is 10 minutes long (it costs 2€).
The breakfast is very good as well, with large variety of products.
You have to keep in mind that the hotel is situated in residential area and there aren't shops, bars or restaurants nearby (except hotel's Dali restaurant).
The only complaint is about the bed which we didn't find very comfortable (but that might be because we have some spine/back issues and it is not easy to find comfortable beds for us).
Anyway I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pantaghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews