We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Ghent”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Great Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Ghent”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a lovely room overlooking the canal. Room very clean and nicely decorated.

Didn't have breakfast included and felt 20 euros was quite a bit not knowing what was on offer. In future I'd book it as part of the deal.

The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from main train station but on the tram route no 1.

Very well situated and easy to drop back after shopping or to get changed for an evening out.

Thank you for a lovely stay really really enjoyed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LizB114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    453
    176
    64
    16
See reviews for
127
535
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Ghent River Hotel is located close to all the main attractions in Ghent city centre. The staff were polite and helpful. Our room was one of the average rooms and was very basic, not an issue as we didn't spend much time in it, however due to availability friends of ours payed only £9 extra per night and got a much nicer room. So worth paying a bit more if you intend to stay at Ghent River Hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mr AL,

We thank you for your mail. Your response is very important for us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It's a shame you were not too happy with your first room. This is why I personally contact you to verify the details. In our hotel the rooms are not identical, they all have their specific character, but perhaps that your room was not quite to your liking?

We are pleased to hear that our upgrade to the deluxe room was appreciated. Our Deluxe rooms and our Suites are well worth the upgrade! These rooms are very spacious, often with authentic features and they are equipped with coffee and tea and other extras.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with other visitors of the site!

We hope to welcome you in the Ghent River Hotel in the future!

Best regards,
Philippe Destray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were in Ghent to go to the design fair and this hotel was great for our stay.

The rooms has exposed brick walls and exposed wooden beams, high ceilings and views over the river, the all creating a great atmosphere. The beds were large and comfortable and the showers had jet functions and great pressure. The all made for a great night sleep.

The hotel was very well located with parking right outside and walking distance from a huge variety of restaurants.

Its definitely somewhere I would stay again.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mrs P,

Greetings from the Ghent River Staff! So very nice of you to write such positive feedback.
If a guest writes our hotel is definitively a place to return to, we know we our job well!

We are also very happy to hear that you appreciated the exposed wooden beams, high ceilings and views over the river in your room. I agree these elements contribute to the authentice atmosphere.

Hopefully my staff can welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit to our lovely city; maybe next year during the Design Fair! If you wish to book the same type of room again, we always recommend you to specify this in your booking.

Kind regards,

Philippe Destray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay here at ghent river.
The room is spacious, staff are friendly, breakfast is good and lastly when we left for paris they let us leave our heavy luggages and stored then for us since we are comming back after our paris trip. Overall i would always come back to ghent river hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located on a side street to the Virjdagsmarkt this is an ideal spot to stay if you are spending a few days in Ghent.
The hotel has a good facilities (free wifi), bar, decent breakfast with great views over city.
The only downside seemed to be a general smokey note to the hotel corridors however this is a common problem in most Belgian hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river rather than the road. Much quieter at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md050472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I really like this hotel, its quite central in the city and within walkin distance to the Fridaymarket, Virjdagsmarkt, where there is a parking garage. It is also quite close to the Genever bar, which is a must see if you are in Gent.

Room Tip: try to get rooms a couple of floors up, there is sometimes quite noicy in the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders_Ohlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was very kindly upgraded by hotel (as a result of a birthday celebration) and this led to the suite! Though it had minimal lighting (perhaps due to restrictions by being a loft conversion?) it was large and full of character. The staff were helpful in trying to make the lighting better, albeit with no success, and also on check-in. Check-out was prompt. It may help to have curtain on outside and a sliding window as it was difficult to open the curtain fully due to the interfering beams and the other window was facing the brick wall of the new building. May help to have more sockets so that additional free-standing lamps can be made available. These are small issues though as we use the hotel as a base and I for one don't read much, and it is branded as a historic hotel. (There was a small airy sitting area in the corridor outside).
We didn't have breakfast as the food (and beer!) from night before filled us up but suggest that the price could have been reduced to attract us.
Fantastic location near squares having good bars/restaurants.
May be useful on website to say how to get to hotel from nearest tram / bus stops. I could not spot this but eventually managed to glean that Tram no 1 from Korenmarkt was nearest and it was a straightforward 5-10 min walk to it

Room Tip: If you like traditional style room, with beams and are prepared to get on with limited lighting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSTEELE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing