We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Leimuiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very Clean modern hotel, not stuffy at all.
The rooms were large, Tea n Coffee provided, nice comfortable bed.
Only complaint was small thin towels, no makeup/ shaving mirror, and no extraction in bathroom.
The bathroom was a room separated from the bedroom by a very thin wall, and as such was no very private
There was also noise from outside.
Because the hotel was a previous warehouse noise insulation was not good.
Nice breakfast room, decent choice of food.
Good location, bars and restaurants around the corner,
Getting into the carpark was a bit tricky due to the one way system!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiemow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Google Translation
Beste,

Ik was zeer geïnteresseerd in het lezen van uw feedback , die voor ons van groot belang is. Wij zijn zeer blij om te horen dat uw verblijf naar wens was en hebben ook de paar verbeterpunten met veel interesse gelezen.

Wij zouden u graag in ons hotel terug te ontvangen! Mocht u in het vervolg bij ons boeken dan raad ik u aan om een kamer in het moderne gedeelte van het hotel te vragen, deze zijn het beste geisoleerd.

Ik dank u voor uw commentaar.
Vriendelijke groeten
Philippe Destray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    439
    172
    64
    15
See reviews for
125
518
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heemserveen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Good tidy rooms which are decorated with authentic features of the old building as it was. Eventhough its not possible to dine at the hotel the service is very good with a very good breakfast room facility and very friendly and helpfull staff. The city it self give full possibility's for vArious outstanding cuisine.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreCornelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Andre

Greetings from the Ghent River Staff! So very nice of you to write such positive feedback. Hopefully my staff can welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit to our lovely city!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is in a good location, about 5 minutes from the old centre of Ghent, and we booked a deluxe room on the river side, which was very nicely appointed - comfy bed, big bath, etc. However, as another reviewer has recently said, this was not a 4-star experience, and not worth the high prices. The room service was particularly bad – the bed was roughly made up and towels folded, but there was no attempt at making the room look nice in any other way...no tidying, no removal of empty water bottles, and a dirty glass from the bar wasn't washed, let alone removed.

Also, we were in Room 220, the furthest corner from reception, which doesn't receive wi-fi. I told reception that we couldn't go online, and was told that there had been problems in that room. We'd booked the room two months earlier, so why were we put there? We were relying on wifi for our holiday plans, so had to buy a 3G plan with our UK mobile phone company instead - not ideal. We did have a nice stay, but it wasn't worth the money we spent. As this was a special holiday for us, I expected more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Judith R

I am sorry to hear your stay was quite disappointing for you. Being a 4star hotel, I take a personal interest in ensuring that our Housekeeping Team maintain the highest standards. So I am sad to hear the room was not cleaned well.
I understand that the problem with the bad wifi connection was annoying. Every room should have a good wifi connection, I agree. As you can imagine we have a regular maintenance programme in the hotel, however problems can slip in between checks, so we thank you very much for alerting us to the problem and although it is a bit too late as far as your stay with us is concerned, all rooms have a working wifi connection.
Thank you for your feedback and again I’d like to apologize for the inconveniences.

Greetings

Philippe Destray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a medium sized , quite modern hotel , located within easy walking distance of all the attractions of central Ghent. Considering its location , finding the hotel and the parking was relatively straightforward ( not always the case in some cities !) . Apart from Satnav , you can follow the signs to P( arking) 1 Vridjmarket.
Check in was very fast and the room was already ready even though I arrived early ( 13.00). Room was quite standard for a modern hotel ,( nicer than a budget chain but not 4* ) comfortable bed, TV with a few English channels , Kettle, free Wi Fi. modern bathroom and everything clean.
Downside of room was that the heating only works when you are in the room, so it was cold on arrival and on return from evening out . The room heated up but the bathroom remained a bit cold. The shower was only warm ( not hot ).
Breakfast was OK, usual Continental choice + a couple of not very appetising looking hot food items ( scrambled egg and streaky bacon) . Absolutely typical for this type of hotel everywhere in France, Benelux etc
In the reception there is a small lounge and bar area . Only bottled beer. In any case there is a lot of choice of places to eat and drink in the vicinity and in the centre.
Check out was a bit slow as they only had one machine for credit cards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Albermarle

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay in general, in spite of some shortcomings. Hopefully my staff can welcome you again in the future!

Greetings

Philippe Destray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

For the price and the rate, we were expecting much more. Location cannot be better and we had the Deluxe rooms on the river side. But besides that the hotel doesn't offer facilities and comfort of a 4-star hotel, only its high prices! For the same cost, prefer the Rijlof.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahGeneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Deborah

I was most interested to read your valuable feedback, but was sorry to hear that our hotel was not able to offer you what you expected from it. We always try to give our guests value for money and a great all-round experience. Thanks again for your feedback.

Greetings

Philippe Destray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My first visit to this hotel in Gent, arrived late at night but receptionist was all ready for me to check in so all sorted, incl wifi code.
Room was huge,but here is watch out, rooms with a 40, ie 240, 340 are right beside the stair well, and as a result it was quite noisy also it appeared to be near an airvent so there was a general humming all night..think if i had arrived earlier i would have asked to be moved, was that tired though it didnt disturb me.
That being said room was clean, bathroom was modern, shower powerful and bed was really comfortable.
Breakfast room was very nice and a good selection, rate was very good value.
Would stay again

Room Tip: avoid a 40 in the number...see above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very quiet..nice atmosphere...
The view from my window was superb. Clean and wonderful interior of the room. The personal was exquisite, so friendly and were wonderful. . Very warm.All in all, I made a good choice.
Minus: Was pricey so we stayed just one night but was totally worth the experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
941 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing