We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, comfortable hotel”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here early September 2013 for 3 nights. We had an executive room with a view of the river right outside which was lovely. I think this is what made it executive as the room itself wasn't 'wow' but it was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was small but very clean and a nice big sink for toiletries etc. The shower was funny as it had a seat and lots of water pistons in there for an interesting shower experience....also a mirror?! Don't get that. I did like the quirkiness of the place though as it was part of an old mill so there was a pole beam in the bathroom and beams on the ceiling which are a nice touch.

The breakfast room is lovely on the third floor, a really nice way to begin the day. The food on offer was the usual continental breakfast with a few Belgian touches thrown in but there was plenty and all nice food.

The location is ideal, just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Ghent it is very easy to get around and a nice quiet, place to stay.

Overall I would recommend a stay at this hotel. I do not know the usual rates as we came on a special deal from secretescapes.com as a birthday treat for me (which also included champagne and belgian chocs on arrival! very yum, despite having to go and get them from reception ourselves - would have been nice to have them waiting)

My main criticism would be the room service and bar charges - the prices truly are astronomical however Ghent as a city, isn't a cheap place but even considering that, the prices were too high.

However, our room was cleaned every day, the safe is free to use and can store plenty and the reception staff were always very helpful.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the river are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaska678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

excellent stay at this hotel the location breakfast all excellent we had a great time at Ghent
tip belgium beer:-)
and a lovely castle in the area
so what are you waiting for? book this hotel and you can see for yourself

E.Klijn
Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

First visit to the beautiful city of Ghent and this hotel put us right in the middle of the action. The staff were welcoming and the rooms clean and comfortable. Beautiful restored old sugar mill maintained some character. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We liked this hotel a lot. We tried to book it again on our return to gent a few days later but it was full. We got the Ibis Central Opera instead. Big mistake. For the same price the River Hotel was charming, clean and roomy. The Ibis was functional, with tiny rooms and the incredibly small bathroom door had a unprepared hole in it from what looked like someone having banged their head on it after realising what bad value it was. Gent River Hotel if you can. Ibis Central Opera only if you really must.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed there several times throughout the year.It's a nice cosy hotel.Rooms are clean and big enough.Though they can be a bit noisy due to the wooden floors.Good breakfast with very nice and friendly staff at the breakfast room!

Room Tip: It's in the middle of the centre.Easy to access and parking space nearby.Make a reservation on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ghent is a tremendous place to spend a few days if you like exploring, eating and drinking in a leisurely and unhurried atmosphere. Transport is easy but why bother when you can walk wherever you want to go - provided you stay in the right hotel. That's where the Ghent River hotel comes in. Not only is it comfortable, friendly and excellent value for money, it's also just about as close to the sights, the squares and the restaurants as you can get. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a view, and to feel part of the place, go for a riverside room in the old part of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Breakfast was very good shame about the room. Towels were poor, free Internet was difficult to access, no tea/ coffee facilities in the room. Central for access to the city but very dis appointed with the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missdottyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,055 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $110 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing