We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is in an great part of the city and our room was very good - spacious,clean and modern.

Parking is nearby and cheap.

Free Wifi is nice.

The only two negatives is that is the bar is nothing to write home about but due to the hotel's location that is really not a problem. Breakfast was horrendously expensive to the extent that we did not bother.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
There are newer reviews for Ghent River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pleasant hôtel, but not four star standard and if you are looking for a historic building, forget it. The building was just gutted and modernised to death. Got slightly short changed after double mistake in bill, left shirts for laundry, they never were sent. Still, the people are pleasant and it is well located. I still recommend it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank GCW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A very good hotel.
Parking in the underground car park P1 (5 min from hotel) next best to having one on premises (10 euros 24 hours).
Rooms on the smallish side , very well appointed BUT no kettle.
The selection at breakfast the best I've seen in a hotel for a long time.

Beware of the bath, the use of a towel to stand on if showering is essential as there does not appear to be a non-slip surface on the bath.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brimonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear

Greetings from the Ghent River Hotel! I was thrilled to hear your nice words about our hotel, especially about the breakfast choice we offer. Thank you for drawing my attention to the problem you experienced with the bath. We will look at the options . We indeed don’t provide kettles in every room. Standard room don’t have them, executive rooms, luxury and suites do have them.
I very hope my team can welcome you again in our lovely hotel!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed one night in March 2013.
As it was a saturday night, the hotel seemed completely booked and things were very busy.
The hotel has no garage so you have to park the car on a small square in front of the hotel. The square was packed with cars and there were several cars circling around hoping to find a parking place....impossible. So the people at the hotel advised us to go to the public parking place at the Vrijdagsmarkt....completely full too, and there were 4 cars waiting at the entrance hoping that other people would leave.
When finally arriving in the hotel, we saw that the rooms were very nice and despite the fact that the hotel seemed full, we did not have a noisy night.
After a good nights sleep, we woke up to find out that there was no hot water to get a shower. With Ghent covered in snow and freezing temperatures outside, this was a bummer to say the least. We had to wash with ice-cold water....
As we arrived at breakfast rather late (around 10 am), a lot of the buffet was already gone. Apparently they had not enough supplies for a busy weekend.
Despite the fact that Ghent has some of the most amazing bakeries you can imagine, nothing of this was to be noticed on the buffet; the bread was mostly industrial package stuff, not very special. . So, if you are there during a busy weekend, make sure you get your breakfast a little earlier.
When checking out we complained about the cold shower and they said they were sorry. Only after saying that we would review this on Tripadvisor, they offered us our breakfast for free....a nice compensation for the frustrations we had.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear

Thank you for your post! In the weekends it can be busy in Ghent so then it can happen that you have to wait a little while in order to find a parking space. I am sorry for that but there is really nothing much we can do about it, being a hotel located in the city center. Although I understand the inconvenience.
I am very disappointed to hear the breakfast was not enough supplied. We always strive to give our guest value for their money. I already spoke to my team about it and I can ensure you they will look after it in the future. About the quality of the food, we work with fresh products like fresh fruit, homemade bakeries etcetera...so I am sorry you got the feeling it was industrial.
Concerning the cold water, there was indeed a problem in the hotel due to a power breakdown that night. I very much understand your displeasure! I am glad my team offered you free breakfast and that it can ease the frustrations you felt during your stay with us. Hopefully my team can welcome you again in the Ghent River Hotel, in better circumstances!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I spend 2 nights in the Ghent River hotel, in the old building at the side of the river. It is a very nice hotel with great rooms in the old-factory-style in the middle of Ghent. The people in the hotel are very friendly and warm. Also a very good breakfast! If you want to visit Ghent, try the Ghent river hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the river! Very nice!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear

Thank you so much for your comment!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights 15 March 2013.. It's perfectly placed for a long w.e. visit in this wonderfully cosmopolitan and vibrant city being only 5 mins walk from the centre but quiet from traffic and revellers! We had a lovely room overlooking the canal which was well equipped for our needs. Brilliant honesty mini-bar with lots of stock but no kettle, so if like us you like an early morning cuppa take a travel kettle with you! Bathroom great although it was easier to have a bath - which we needed after our daily hikes on the cobbles in the city! - but shower is adequate if used with care! Lots of goodies in here as well. Breakfast room and breakfast was great but if you are on a budget, lots of local value for money cafes etc are there! All staff were very helpful and went the extra mile. We had arrived quite early from the 7am Eurostar and had our room been ready, they would have been willing to have handed the key over, but there is a very adequate left luggage room which we used on arrival and our departure. There are also lots of umbrellas there for personal use, but fortunately these weren't needed! If the weather is good, there is a lovely outside sitting area and also good lounge areas with free wi-fi and a computer for your use as well. We would certainly stay here again on our next visit to this lovely city.

Room Tip: Do try for a canal view, apart from the scenic aspect, the window cills are excellent to keep "...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatty881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear

Thanks for leaving your comment about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very friendly people, nice room and a good breakfast.
In the room, we didn't hear any noise from outside, no neighboor noises, no sound of the wheels of the suitcases.
And the location is also a high advantage!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear

Thanks for posting this nice review!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $116 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing