We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE accomodation to discover the lovely city”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very friendly people, nice room and a good breakfast.
In the room, we didn't hear any noise from outside, no neighboor noises, no sound of the wheels of the suitcases.
And the location is also a high advantage!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear

Thanks for posting this nice review!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent a couple of nights at the Ghent River Hotel while attending a conference in the city. No complaints with the hotel. The staff were friendly and professional, the rooms large and well appointed. It's an interesting building, with a particularly impressive breakfast room, just off one of the historic squares of Ghent. I can't comment on dinner as I ate out for both of my night's stay.
Ghent itself is lovely, and I'm only sorry I was working and had little chance to explore. It's certainly a destination that I would consider for a long weekend break, and if I was returning I would be happy to stay at the Ghent River Hotel.

Room Tip: Could hear some bar noise from room 15, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear

We hope to welcome you again in our lovely city! Thank you for your kind words.

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Couldn't fault anything with this hotel.
The check-in was efficent.
The room we got was 'river side' and very well appointed, with a decent bathroom.
The breakfast was very good - a LOT of choice of hot and cold options and the restaurant itself was light, airy and gave a good view across the rooftops.
We got a good price, to be honest, which made this an excellent deal - but if what you're after in a good quality, centrally located hotel for 3 nights in Ghent, you get just that at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad cycle race. Was as expected for €90 but nothing out of the ordinary. Didn't take the breakfast option at €20 per head as there are plenty of cheaper alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevefry789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is really well located, lovely rooms with nice toiletries. Buffet breakfast was really good, and served until 11 on weekends! All the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms are quiet, and some have a view over the river.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orange_Sakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice reaction!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just back from a long weekend at this hotel! Room was excellent, large bed and room. Bathroom modern and nice freebies! Breakfast was fab, large choice and really lovely staff in the restaurant!
One evening early on about 5pm, there was a lot of noise and I assumed it was a night club,but I asked the staff and they said it was a youth club which closes at 8pm - which it did! We had a really quiet time and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabby51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear

It’s really nice to read such a positive review! See you next time in the Ghent River Hotel!

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel was nice and modern...we were hoping to get one of the rooms with some character (brick walls or raftered ceilings) but we just got a regular one. Size was fine. We were on the side of the building near a night club so the outside noise was a little more than I hoped for but it wasn't horrible. Bathroom could use some updating...the shower didn't drain well and kind of flooded the floor. Location was great though...near the older part of the city and easy to walk around from. I would go back but be more picky with my room choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtotheRisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear

Thank you for your comment. Being a unique conversion from a sugar factory to a modern/historic hotel, the rooms vary within “type”. We have rooms in the old part with its typical characteristics and then the modern rooms. When you want to stay with us again, you just ask it in advance and we will allocate you a room in the old part.

Kind regards

Philippe Destray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,037 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $108 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing