We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Ghent
from $9.30
More Info
from $40.40
More Info
from $8.70
More Info
from $45.10
More Info
Reviews (4,534)
Filter reviews
2,196 results
Traveler rating
1,668
454
57
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,668
454
57
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cobbled streets day trip on foot christmas market waffles beautiful town bars and restaurants within walking distance walk around every corner train station boat ride gravensteen castle walking tour mystic lamb belgium architecture
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,196 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

A beautiful Surprise discover Gent.
I love it! Advise: visit the God Lamb, One of the best Paint in the world

Thank alessandro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

The main reason to go to Ghent is so that you can walk around a nearly perfectly preserved Gothic city. When you first see it, you can't believe your eyes. Sadly, a lot of chains have populated the center--there was an O'Taco restaurant in a building that dated from the 1400s!

Thank elleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

A non typical touristic destination. An magic atmosphere in the center of the city: medieval buildings and causey all around.

Thank krstcng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

great place to visit when in France. Lots of history and impressive architecture. everything in one place, sights, shopping, restaurants, cafes. Lovely river cruises. the weather spoilt it a little (rainy and cold) but I'll bet it's gorgeous in the summer sitting in the square watching the world go by. the town hall featured and exhibition to remember the fallen during the war. (100 anniversary hence the visit). would love to go again in the summer

Thank MrsDouglas568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I just love the city centre! Whether you visit for a good meal or shopping - everything is within walking distance. Add all the marvellous old buildings and you have an irresistible mix. During the festive season the centre becomes a beehive of activities for young and old. Dare you stay away??

Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I wanted to take the Eurostar for the first time and were recommended Ghent. Never heard of it but thought why not.

Well I was more than pleasantly surprised! It is just the most idyllic historical town with a lot to see and do in such a small area.

Of course you have to try the Belgium waffles - the restaurant Fetch treated me to a banana, strawberry and chocolate waffle which was absolutely moreish!

You also can’t visit Belgium without sampling Belgium beers, and Die Waterhuis op de Bierkant has a selection of over 200 beers!

A gorgeous little town and a long weekend well spent in my mind!

Thank J1560XDcarlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Not so touristic as Bruges, but a very interesting city center. It was a very important city in middle age. Don't miss the Mystic Lamb, at Cathedral.

Thank pasv67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A fantastic city for walking. You can easily get to all the main sites and museums walking or with the excellent transport system. I would recommend the city card - 30 Euros - which as well as all the museums, also covers transport and even includes a boat trip and an hour's free bike hire. There's a lot to see. The free walking tour (meeting outside the youth hostel - was really brilliant - fascinating history told with great humour.
a great intro to the city and much better than the boat tour...

Thank WendyBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

There is just so much to see and do not least traveling on the trams. So much of the city has been preserved but not mothballed. The modern architecture is not an eyesore but blends in perfectly with the surroundings.

Thank Siobhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

we just took our american family to discover Gent (that we know very well) and they loved all of it .. better they were really astonished that such a beautiful hidden gem existed so near to Brugge and with much more personality. So do as them and come to discover the old town, the very good restaurants, the waterways that are everywhere, the churches.
Enjoy all of it

Thank _brigittemvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews