We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky find: friendly, fabulous wine and food”
Review of Walters' - CLOSED

Walters'
Price range: $17 - $62
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome at Walters' in the historical centre of Ghent. This boutique restaurant and wine bar is foodie heaven for those who wants to explore a true ingredient cuisine and top wine bar at "prix d'amis". Walter and his chef Gauthier seek after the finest and freshest ingredients throughout the seasons. They bring you an honest, natural cuisine that does right to every ingredient selected. You can savor simple dishes or go for pure luxury with truffles, caviar, the best meat and game in Belgium, fish as fresh as you can get, etc. Great luxury ingredients - great value for money.The absolute must see, is Walters' open wine cellar where you are invited to wander around and select the wine you'd like to try with lunch, dinner or some tapas.You'll easily get carried away with the hundreds of bottles of beauty. Amongst others: great French and Italian classics, exciting wines from Spain and Portugal and a thrilling selection of new world wines. The best is yet to come: at Walters', one pays the retail price per bottle and a small fixed fee for degustation at your table. Like to take a few bottles home? You're welcome to pick your choice at competitive retail prices. Dinner party or wine exploration with more than 5? you're welcome. We can make a unique arrangement for groups up to 15 people.
Germany+LA, CA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lucky find: friendly, fabulous wine and food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We scored :)
The place looked nice and the menu small and seasonal, so I talked some French and an American to give the restaurant a shot for a late lunch with four people. We weren't disappointed - faboulous food, excellent choice of wine (and most of all, by the glass!), friendly staff and a nice intimate restaurant.
I would come back - and I now have a reputation among some frenchies that I should the the one that scouts to find the good restaurants!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasteful classics”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Walter and his partner served us the best Sauerkraut we ever ate ! It had that special edge by using champagne and came as a royal plate with a fine selection of sausages and pork and of course Ghent mustard.
Wine cellar is impressive and the pricing very fair: you pick a bottle at regular price and a 'cork fee' is added, thus allowing you to go for the better wines in this +500 catalog.
We saw two very friendly people putting a lot of effort in their restaurant.
It is not one of those hyped places in Ghent, but nowadays a non hyped genuine classic Ghent restaurant is great find !
We certainly will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great classic French cuisine and sublime wines”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Cosy restaurant in the centre of Ghent. Very friendly people, but not pushy. Nice to get the perfect wine within budget and matching the choice of dish. Kitchen is refined French cuisine with classics, prepared to perfection. I enjoyed the Duke of Berkshire porc till the last bit. During meal or afterwards I recommend a tour in the huge wine cellar. Did you really like your wine? You can buy a few bottles to enjoy at home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RalfJennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gistel
1 review
“great experiance”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lovely restaurant, fine food great service and perfect wine!
all that in harmony with each other + the city ghent at night that makes for us a perfect evening !!

food 9/10
service 9/10
wine 9.5/10

thx for the great experiance

Pieter

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pieterdekeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodeavet, Guest Relations Manager at Walters', responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr. De Keyser,

Thank you very much for your positive review on our restaurant and wine bar Walters' on TropAdvisor. It is exactly this kind of positive feedback that motivates us to continue the quest and to try give our customers the best possible experience we can provide them with.

Thank you so much for spreading the word and we hope to welcome you soon at Walters' again.
Kind regards,

Walter and Gauthier van Damme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gistel, Belgium
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great location in the centre of Ghent.
The service was excellent, relaxed, friendly and professional.
The food was fantastic as well as the presentation of it.
There is a very large (good) wine selection available that fits with the food.

I can definitely recommend this restaurant for people that want to have a very good meal in a peacefull environment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ovionekenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodeavet, Guest Relations Manager at Walters', responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Ovi,

Thank you very much for your positive review on our restaurant and wine bar Walters' on TropAdvisor. It is exactly this kind of positive feedback that motivates us to continue the quest and to try give our customers the best possible experience we can provide them with.

Thank you so much for spreading the word and we hope to welcome you soon at Walters' again.
Kind regards,

Walter and Gauthier van Damme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walters' also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing