We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and delicious food”
Review of Surtoe

Surtoe
Ranked #275 of 1,030 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We have been here and enjoyed the big t bone steak and a bottle of wine. Steak was very good, service very good, espresso could be better. A very good level of value for money.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Igor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 99 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Initial impression was not good. For some odd reason, guess seeing kids, they said as we entered that they did not have pastas or salads on the menu. Not very welcoming. Once we passed that barrier and put our order through, they were more friendly. Food was excellent. Service was good, but think a bit stressed. White house wine was excellent. Not a children friendly place. In general, we thought Ghent was not very hospitable, unlike most places in Belgium. Still, a beautiful city not to be missed!!!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 486burhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016

real friendly couple ran this establishment. I think they made us feel at home as we were regular customers by th end of our very long weekend (most of our 5 days meals were taken there).

There food was excellent both in quality and flavour and the service was second to none, I would love to return soon to eat there again.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Angela U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

On Sunday evenings in Ghent, not everywhere is open.

We arrived after 8, and got the window table (which has been reserved by a couple that arrived by taxi over half an hour late).

No starters appealed, but the steaks were delicious, cooked and served simply with salad and fries.

Whilst others had dessert we weren't even offered any. Nor coffee.

Despite two tables of diners arriving after us, we felt unwelcome, as if we were the people keeping the waitress from closing up for the night. It felt that we were rather an imposition on the waitress, although it was clear who she really didn't like.

€114 before tip, after 3 steaks, 2 beers and a water

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2016

We enjoy this place everytime we get around,small restaurant with a monthly changing menu.
The food is tastefull,the presentation is perfect,the price is correct.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marianneanddirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surtoe also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Surtoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing