We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel with a view”
Review of Hostel Uppelink

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Uppelink
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hostel with a view”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed here in August 2014 for one night during a bike trip around Belgium.
First of all: The location is breathtaking. Very few hotels in the world have a view quite as stunning as the one from the windows of this hostel.
Regarding the hostel itself: The rooms are fairly large (though with eight people in there it still might get a bit crowded) and include a table and some chairs so there is a least the possibility to hang some clothes to dry. The lockers are rather small and sadly do not include powerpoints. Also the hostel does not have a safe storage place for bikes which would have come in handy.
All staff members I came in contact with were very nice.
The hostel feature its own bar where you can drink a variety of local beers at rather low prices. During my stay there was also a chocolate tasting event taking place which was a great way of meeting some fellow travellers (though there was already a fair bit of socialising going on since quite a lot of people were hanging around in the bar / common room in the early evening).

Bathrooms/Showers were a bit limited (not every room has its own shower but there is rather one large room with several (seperate) showers on the top floor) and not exactly the most clean I have ever seen (though perfectly fine to use).

Breakfast the next morning was nice (nothing special: toast, cereal,...).

As mentioned above the location is just perfect; it is hardly possible to imagine the hostel lying any more central in Gent.

All in all a very enjoyable stay in a great hostel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homomorphiesatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    51
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
44
80
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Wonderful stay for two backpakcing friends. Supreme location in city centre, our room was fortunate enough to be facing the canal and city skyline of bell towers and spires! Lovely staff members, very helpful and friendly. Beautiful decor, large clean bright room. Super breakfast, chill music playing in common room. Computers were a bit slow, but that meant we spent more time exlporing so no real complaint. Would highly reccommend to all.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones facing the canal!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithy_california
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hostel has the best ambiance I've ever seen anywhere! The staff is amazingly nice, other travellers are looking to meet people, the view is superb and the breakfast is good for once. I met a few people and we hung out together in bars, on the cute terrasse and during the free walking tour.
We even had the first ever free chocolate tasting while I was there, which also informed everyone about the necessity of fairtrade chocolate.
Everything was very clean, the showers had good pressure and hot water, and the kitchen is also clean and extremely modern!
You won't regret staying here, I wish I had stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hostel was nice and clean but the people were the best part. The man who checked us in was extremely accommodating and polite. The view from our room was amazing and the common area was great for sitting and talking after ordering a few beers (very reasonably priced) at the bar. Everyone was very welcoming and our group went out to the bars together to hangout. The breakfast in the morning was great and I did not once wish I had a waffle instead of toast. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in Ghent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phi1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Uppelink was right on the waterfront, on the main bridge into the centre. It was relatively quiet, spotless inside and had fantastic social/cooking spaces. The staff were friendly and more than happy to help if you had any questions. Their recommended walking tour was pretty cool, too! Check it out - but if you're prepared to spend a little more, the Marriot isn't half bad by the looks of things and I guess Uppelink was a little pricey for how basic the room was. (Also, note a 'twin room' is a bunk bed!)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Perfect location, huge and clean rooms and probably some of the most friendly staff you can find in Belgium working at a hostel, Uppelink has everything in its favor, and its incredible good value for its pice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Nice and friendly staff. Cosy house in the middle of town. If you're a guest of Gent Festival then you have great location with the festival at your doorstep (only if you're no stranger to sleeping with earplugs). Easy to swing by the hostel to grab a coat or to rest a while in their super chilled out lounge/bar that has som really tasty local beer for a accomodating price. The included breakfast is also recomended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johanaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Uppelink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Uppelink

Property: Hostel Uppelink
Address: Sint-Michielsplein 21, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Uppelink 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Uppelink, a family owned hostel situated in the historic center of Ghent. Enjoy spending the night in our 13th century building, but also try out our kayak rental service and our daily free walking tours (one in English and one in Spanish - both leave at 1 pm). On Wednesdays and Saturdays, from July to October, we also organize guided visits the Delirium Brewery, home of the Pink Elephant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Uppelink reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing