We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hostel Uppelink

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Uppelink
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at Uppelink just one night. The city is impressive and the hostel has really beautiful views.
The hostel is new, and room and facilities are clean. Common areas are confortable and nicely decorated. The owners are friendly and provide good information about the city (like how to find the "most beautiful building" in the city-thank you Seppe). One of the better hostels I have ever stayed.
Congratulations Seppe!
Marta

Room Tip: some rooms have amazing views to Saint Michaels Church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martitadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 280 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hostel Uppelink is one of the most wonderful hostels I've ever stayed in. Location is fabulous - right off of Sint-Michielsbrug. The views from my room (of the bridge and the Graslei) are phenomenal. I stayed in an 8-bed dorm room and it was one of the most spacious hostel rooms I've ever been in. Rooms and toilet/showers were very clean. The folks who run the place (Seppe and Tine) were super friendly and helpful with recommendations and tips about places to see and things to do in Ghent. Would definitely stay here again when I visit Gent again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jphnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were planning on a night on the town with some friends of ours and decided to stay the night in Ghent. We parked our car in an underground parking lot, right near the hostel. We saw this hostel and asked if they still had room for 2 people since we did not make a reservation. There was still room in one of the dorms. The dorm had room for 8 people (mixed), 4 bunk beds to be exact. The hostel had only been open for 3 months and the whole place had been renovated. The beds were new and of very good quality! I had a very good night sleep!

This dorm had an amazing view! You could see the historical centre through the window and at night it gives you a cosy and authentic feeling. The building is actually quite old, but they did a really good job renovating everything. The toilets and showers were really clean and so were the rooms. The hostel is situated right in the city center, near the water, and near all the main tourist attractions. Although there is a bar situated right below the hostel, you could not hear the music that much I thought.

Breakfast is included in the price (25 € per night per person). Quite basic, but very good breakfast. One of the best breakfasts I have had in a hostel in Europe!
At night the cosy and spacious breakfast room serves as a place where you can sit and enjoy a good local beer while watching the city of Ghent through the window.

There is also a big common room with several couches where you can sit and read a book or talk to other guests at the hostel. You can also use the free WiFi in the hostel or use one of the computers in the common room.

You can stay out all night if you want, since you have access with your key card to the building.
Would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: We were in Room 2. Great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joke1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

New, clean, cheap, nice staff, plenty of showers, nice common area, spacious rooms, new beds, lockers....
Starting from the building, situated just 2 minutes walking from the main turist attractions, the building has been refurbished and is secure and new.
Breakfast is included, basic but enough, toast, cereals, juice, jams and hot drinks.
Both the rooms and the shared facilities were pristine and the staff was helpfull and amiable.
A magnetic card gives you access to the main entrance the hall and the room so security is guaranted, besides that, lockers in the room are provided.
Overall I won´t hesitate a second to recomend this hostel either if you are a backpacker a student or a weekend traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miguel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The view from the hostel window is the most stunning I've ever seen. Everything is brand new &very clean. It's in a gorgeous heritage building, which meant it was a little chilly sometimes, but it was -5 outside. The rooms were bright, clean with lovely high ceilings. The showers were hot &clean. The common area was lovely to chill out in. The staff were very helpful &friendly. You have your own key card, with a lock on your room & lockers in the room. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorriedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were travelling around Belgium, decided to visit Gent and so at first we've booked two nights in Uppelink. We were really surprised to see the building of the hostel but we were even more surprised when we saw Uppelink inside. The hostel's cozy, clean, super stylish (really, it's decorated amazingly), well- equipped and, in fact, better than not only hostels but even lots of the hotels.
Uppelink's situated right in the middle of the city, and view from the window (we stayed in the room 2) was exciting. Even our local friend in Gent was surprised that hostel's situated in such a lovely place. Seppe and all the staff are always ready to help and it seems that they're really interested in what they do. Tasty beakfast with coffee is included which is good for expensive Belgium. In Brussels we've paid double price of the one we've paid in Uppelink to have rather mediocre place to stay without breakfast and view.
After Gent we wanted to stay in Bruges for two nights but went back to the Uppelink right after the first night in Bruges, when we saw the conditions of the hostel and found out that one more day in Gent would be much better than one more day In Bruges. We fell in love with Gent and that's great that there is such a nice place to stay in such a beautiful city.
These guys really do a good job.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the room 2 for two nights and one night in the girls' room because it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LogAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My family and I came across this hostel on a spur of the moment trip to Ghent. It was a fantastic place- Our room had a view of the bridge and Seppe gave us great recommendations of places to eat and visit. He gave us a great history of the place and made our stay feel just like home. We stayed in mid October, 2012. My wife was beaming about the mattresses and slept like a baby. We will certainly come back and stay. Ghent itself is a gem and somewhat off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,042 reviews
0.7 mi away
KaBa Hostel
KaBa Hostel
#3 of 38 in Ghent
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Uppelink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Uppelink

Address: Sint-Michielsplein 21, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Ghent
Price Range: $28 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Uppelink 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Uppelink, a family owned hostel situated in the historic center of Ghent. Enjoy spending the night in our 13th century building, but also try out our kayak rental service and our daily free walking tours (one in English and one in Spanish - both leave at 1 pm). On Wednesdays and Saturdays, from July to October, we also organize guided visits the Delirium Brewery, home of the Pink Elephant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Uppelink reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing