We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buzzing atmosphere and full tummies”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spare Rib Cafe

Spare Rib Cafe
Ranked #548 of 852 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Barbecue, American, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Prestatyn
1 review
“Buzzing atmosphere and full tummies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Like others, we happened upon this place after being turned away from Amadeus 1. Although busy, it was only a 15 minute wait until a table opened up. The inside of the restaurant is quaint/old fashioned with lots of old paintings and antique style radiators. My only complaint was that ona cold December night it was actually too hot for me in woollen Winter gear.

We had the all you can eat ribs which are currently priced at 17 Euros. Like most eateries in Belgium there's a good choice of beer which works best with ribs. The ribs come with various sauces which, to be honest, were very average choices - however their homemade BBQ sauce that gets passed round in large bottles is lovely. Beware though! I assumed it would be thick like ketchup, shook the bottle and ended up splattering it all over the place as it's quite fluid.

The ribs were succulent, came with a large bowl of fries to share and a bit of a salad. We were almost to the end of our rack when a waitress materialised with a platter offering more.

Obviously ribs and fries aren't a gastronomic Odessey, but on a cold Winter's night a belly full of well cooked ribs and draft Belgium beer for under 50 euros for 2 people ticks all the right boxes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank welshwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    26
    10
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

My headline says it all really, we didn't go for 2nds as the first service was so bad. Rock hard ribs, not dropping off the bone, bbq sauce hardly squeezes out the bottles.

Only positive I can say is that the service was quite quick. The place was not that busy so we should have used that as a sign not to step in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horse2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere enormous quantity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were looking for a less touristy non plaza restaurant in Ghent (as you can add 5 to 10 euros to the price of a main course for location) and found this place just over the bridge leading to the castle on the right. Slightly put of by the non-local name but got a table over the road from the restaurant on the bank of the canal. Overall we were very pleased with the meal. We had the carbonnade of beef which was clearly well cooked with a great depth of flavour and the obligatory ribs. The ribs are pretty well cooked with still a fair bit of bite but falling off the bone well enough, we weren't enamoured with the 5 sauces as I am not sure sweet chilli, thousand island or any of the others really go with ribs. That said a large bottle of their homemade barbecue sauce is provided and that is the only way to go. As advertised once your plate of ribs is finished a waiter will come round and offer you another - they told us the record was 12 although 1 and a half was enough for us. Price is far more reasonable than Amadeus and they are not trying to get your table back as soon as you have sat down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pechster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEST RIBS IN GHENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the best place to eat spare ribs in ghent. I've been to amadeus and also to the De Gekroonde hoofden, so I can trully say that this are the best spare rib place i've been so far. the attention is nice, the ribs are very good, the 4 sauces that are served with the ribs are unique only for 16,50 euro (same as all spare rib restaurant)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great ribs, better value than Amadeus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Decided to try this place as the last time I visited Amadeus (II) I was less than impressed. A much smaller operation here, but the ribs were tasy and came with 5 different sauces, a HUGE salad & fries or jacket potatoe.

All this & a beer for less than €20, bargain !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattandAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spare Rib Cafe also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Spare Rib Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing