We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes brilliant”

Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (SMAK)
Ranked #41 of 175 things to do in Ghent
Attraction details
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sometimes brilliant”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

SMAK doen't dsplay it's collection, but rather a continuum of several overlapping temporary exhibitions of both established and new artists.

SMAK can be one of my favorite contemporary museums in Europe -- provided it is doing what it does best; pushing boundaries. Unfortunately, every now and then, it seems SMAK fails to make even an effort. Sometimes, however, it offers the most rewarding visit to a museums in a year or even years.

The building itself serves its purpose well: the interior is light, unassuming, and spacious. You might have difficulty in finding the museum though, as most traffic and tourist signs fail to mention SMAK.

I visit Ghent at least once a year, and SMAK is always included on my itinerary. Experience has taught me to plan a visit well ahead by consulting the SMAK website and choosing which exhibitions are unmissable. That'll be the time to go. I can recommend you to do the same; just dropping by to see what's up is a lottery; you might end up hugely disappointed. If you plan it right, you might end up paying a visit to the best museum experience in years.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adukaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    31
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An empty museum”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ghent can be proud to have a Museum of Modern art AND of the collection it has. But is it very disappointing this beautiful collection is put in cellars. If you come to Ghent to see 'Mosselpot', you won't find it; the same for the Andy Warhols, Jan Fabre etc. When friends go visiting Ghent, we can never go to SMAK because there is nothing to see, in contrast with the bigger brothers TATE in UK and Pompidou in Paris.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful collection.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you love modern arts,... this is a "must see" museum in Belgium. The collection is up to date and swarming with important international artists form this moment. Expo's are always very well made. Congrats

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A very interesting collection of modern art”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It is a very nice renovation of an old building. It is useful to have a guided visit to understand the story behind many of the art pieces

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howth, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Loved SMAK”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was there some time ago but the exhibition of modern art was very interesting. I had a nice sandwich and cafe before I went in. It is also not expensive to enter - I cannot remember exactly the price though. I saw someone reviewed this place one star because it was shut the day they went - I think that is really unfair. I had a great experience and told many friends about it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColinForker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (SMAK) also viewed

 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (SMAK)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing