We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in good location”
Review of Erasmus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Erasmus
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The building is a 15th century town house so is quite interesting historically, but my room was incredibly dark and the owners are obviously very keen on energy-saving lightbulbs, which didn't help. The general air was one of slight shabbiness (one of the curtains was apparently falling off), but, on the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was good - and eaten in a lovely room overlooking the garden. There was a good amount of storage as well. One warning: there is no lift (understandable given the building's age) and the main staircase is steep - anyone unsure on their feet might find it difficult to negotiate, especially with luggage.

The location is excellent, in a quiet road behind the Graslei/Koranlei in Ghent's historic centre.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SELondoneurostarfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very charming place with loads of character. A stones throw from historic Ghent, which is an amazing town! The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were lovely and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank library24lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I had a really good stay at Erasmus Hotel, though I principally just used it for sleeping and eating breakfast. It's a very atmospheric hotel - and I chose to see the rather steep stairs (no elevator) as an element of charm rather than a problem. Could be a problem for older people, though.
The room was just right for my needs - maybe a little small for two people (there were two beds), but that may be the reason why I was given this room as a solo traveler. Nothing spectacular, but clean and sort of cosy.
The location is wonderful, near the river and really quite central, but still far enough from the area where it might be noisy.
Nice breakfast, but again, nothing too spectacular.

The only thing I had a problem with were the bed lamps. The light's too poor - I found it difficult to read by them. Plus the view from the bedroom window - a brick wall.
But still better than no window at all

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stupidly_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Great location, right after the St.Michaels bridge,
it's a pity we had to carry large suitcase to the attic where was our room (no elevator).
The room was very spacey but they save on electricity so we could barely see something in the evening.
The breakfast was timid but the dining room was very attractive.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I really don’t understand all these people complaining about this hotel. Hello – how much opportunity each of them had to sleep in a beautiful 17th century old building? Oh, yes, some things could be refurbished – but who would like ikea furniture or something “modern” in such a beautiful hotel and city?!
The room had everything that we needed for a short stay – beds were ok, we had TV, hair dryer, coffee maker, selection of teas and coffee... The breakfast was in the most beautiful space, with a view to a garden (see photo) and with an old knight’s suit of armor. And we had Villeroy & Boch plates and cups (old-fashioned that fit so good in that interior), but I suppose that people who complain do not now about Villeroy & Boch at all. The breakfast itself was so tasty – different kind of hams and cheeses, as well as other options for sweet breakfast. In small, old-fashion lobby room, there was an old piano and small organ. Everything was really classy, with a style. Ok, a little bit old, but fancy old, like some old, but very nice queen.
So, for people who want “modern” and who would prefer some cold space without soul – don’t go to Erasmus. Everyone else – go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Fantastic location, lovely town - a pity about the hotel itself. It has so much potential and is in definite need of a revamp. The soft furnishings appear to be late 80s/early 90s and we didnt care for the hand knitted cover for the spare loo roll. Sympathetic decor could turn this place into a boutique hotel - the owners are certainly missing a trick, given the beautiful linen and lace that is so abundant in this part of the world.

Soft furnishings aside, the hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were efficient. Would consider staying again, but wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuttleySYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Erasmus has a great location and has a beautiful building. The beds were very uncomfortable, however, and the street noise made a good night's sleep impossible.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erasmus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erasmus

Address: Poel 25, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $98 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Erasmus 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Erasmus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erasmus Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing