We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adoma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adoma
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

As my partner and I do a lot of citytrips, we visit a lot of hotels. Often chain hotels which offer nothing but standards and trained friendliness.We were very excited that in Hotel Adoma this was not the case.
It's a charming family hotel, only 10 minutes from the city center. As the hotel is run by one family, you really feel the enthusiasm and love they have for working here and satisfying their guests. We stayed in room number 12, which was a beautiful and very clean room with a big bathroom.
Hotel Adoma offered a very variated breakfast especially for the low price we had to pay for it.
If we ever plan on visiting Ghent again in the future, we are determined to book again at this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Femke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling through Gent looking for accomodation and happened upon this nightmare.

Driving up to the hotel gave both of us a bad feeling. The place just looked rundown and unkept. Upon parking our car in the on-site parking lot (the only positive thing this hotel has by the way) we walked around to the entrance (if you could call it that).

The door was locked and we had to use the intercom to have them unlock the door. That was the 2nd bad sign. Not even willing to leave your entry door open to welcome your guests.

We walked down some steps to what was labelled reception desk but looked nothing like one (bad sign # 3). We were greeted by a teenager in a t-shirt and flip flops (bad sign # 4). Given all the bad vibes we asked to see the room first and thank god we did.

The ride up the old elevator was interesting and not in a good way. We were then guided through the hallways which reaked of stale smoke and shown the room. The teenager commented that it was "their largest room" as if it was
something to be proud of.

The room looked a mess. There was a double bed on one side and some foldout makeshift double bed on the other. The linen looked used and abused and the stench of stale smoke wafted throughout the room.

My wife and I gave each other one look before the teenager took off yelling at someone. We were basically just left standing there for a few minutes. We waited and waited and he never came back so we decided to get out of there.

Honestly you'd be better off sleeping in your car. Thankfully we found another hotel at a similar rate that actually is a classy hotel. Glad we decided not to spend a night in this hotel and would urge everyone else to do the same.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimNancyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great quality/price relation. Parking facility available, very modern clean facility and helpful, friendly staff. Nice buffet breakfast. Is not at the center, but easily communicated to the historic center (5 min) with tram 1, stop 10 min walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 906albertod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I really, really liked this Hotel. It had interesting decor (in a good way), almost felt like I was in My own small apartment. Large TV, refrigerator, jacuzzi type bath with bubbles. The staff were really good, they had some on site parking (I didn't drive, so don't know cost for parking?). It is only about 300 meters from train station walking.
Some things people may notice or consider negative? It has a good, well stocked. But somewhat limited breakfast. The Hotel is only about 50 meters from train tracks (I didn't have any problems with it). The hotel is a ways from Downtown, but if You walk back through the train station. You can easily and usually quickly catch streetcar number 1 into downtown to see all attractions. I would recommend this Hotel and would stay here again. I would say 8.5 out of 10. Price was great also. I paid 118 Euros for three people, including breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwpoort , Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I visited this place for business and my stay was very refreshing. Décor of the building is very impressive. From beginning till end every process was very smooth. Good co-ordination between all the team members. No issues regarding cleanliness or food. Every corner of the hotel and even the wash room was clean. Food was fresh and properly cooked. Nothing was missing from my room, it was perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexaan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
743 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

It's difficult to call the locatioon of the hotel very convenient. You can walk to the railway station for 6-7 minutes and find there several cafes and restaurants (open until 8 p.m.) where you can dine, But the historic center jf the city is quite far away - about half an hour by walk. However, nearby there is a tram stop (I think the route line 1), from where you can quickly enough reach the Bavon area. Soundproofing in the hotel is not very good. You can hear not only the noise of passing trains (they even rattle the door), but also what is happening in neighboring rooms. Lighting in the rooms and corridors is rather dim. For wintertime the rooms were very war. In whole they are not bad, though small in size. Clean enough. However, inside there was no hair dryer, which is unacceptable for a three-star hotel. In the bathroom there were no hooks on the walls or doors, a shower was completely without holder.
Quite an ordinary hotel, but in comparison with others in Ghent pretty cheap

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gentbrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Greeted by young teenager who tried to wrongly charge us the city tax. None of the hotels sanitary pipes are lagged so you could hear other peoples bodily waste passing down the pipe outside our room. Mattresses covered with plastic, you wake during the night extremely hot and sweaty. Fire alarm went off at 4 in the morning, a false alarm. We returned back to our room at night after being out all day to find our bedroom door left open by cleaner since it was cleaned earlier in the day!!!!!!! Staff not very friendly and wouldn't recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Brasserie Castel
Hotel-Brasserie Castel
#25 of 39 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#6 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Campanile Gent / Gand
Campanile Gent / Gand
#36 of 39 in Ghent
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#16 of 39 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Europa Hotel
Europa Hotel
#22 of 39 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adoma

Property: Adoma
Address: Sint-Denijslaan 19, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adoma 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adoma is een driesterren hotel, gelegen op 200 meter achterkant van het Sint-Pieters station, vlakbij bekendheden zoals de expo-hallen, diverse musea en de universiteit. Er is bovendien een vlotte verbinding met de voornaamste invalswegen van Gent. Tegenover hebt hotel stopt de tram die U doorheen de stad loodst. Het hotel beschikt tevens over beperkte gratis parkeerfaciliteit.parking reserveren niet mogelijk, openbaar parkeren is mogelijk bij het hotel zelf, kost 3€/24h, zon- en feestdagen gratis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Adoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing