We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not all bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Adoma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adoma
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's not all bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

It's not all bad at the Hotel Adoma... It's not in the very centre of town, but, transport there is fast, frequent and cheap.
It does look a bit of a turn off from outside, but, then the communal areas are very clean and well tended.
The rooms are spacious, with the usual facilities, but, the decor isn't to everyone's taste and the beds were extremely soft. There was also a fair bit of noise from the trains passing next to the windows. We had a no smoking room, although, I have a feeling that this wasn't really enforced.
Bathroom was very clean and had all you could need.

Positives: Fairly central, good transport connections, spacious rooms, fairly cheap compared with other options in Gent.
Negatives: Noisy, very soft beds, dubious looking location, very limited parking for very small cars

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyme200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
8
23
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here 1 night during the Gent Jazz Festival. We were allocated a 3 persons bedroom so we did have a spacious room and it was about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Gent so that was ok. The bed a too soft though and you needed to keep the showerhead in you hand because there was no place to hang it. Further there is not really something special about the hotel. I would reccomend it if you are on a budget and just looking for 1 or 2 nights (close to the station which might be handy for backpackers).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Booked a double room for my father-in-law and myself to attend the 6 day cycle racing at the nearby Sportpaleis, so the location was ideal for us, within a 10 minute walk. The previous mixed reviews seem to focus on the hotel's location and modest offer of comfort. My suggestion would be that if you are looking for more comfort and in a location closer to the City Centre, go for a hotel that offers those requirements. This hotel does not pretend to be that, but offers a budget option for travellers with other needs. In terms of location, it is a fair walk to the centre but tram and bus options are available. Our room was quite large, with a double bed and three quarter size bed. No equipment for making drinks, but hotels of this standard in Belgium do not tend to have the same facilities and amenities as the chain budget or lodge type hotels in the UK. Nevertheless, our room was clean and reasonably comfortable. Previous reviews have referred to the smell of smoke (which does seem pervasive and is not pleasant if you are a non-smoker) and also to the train noise (which in my opinion should not affect normal sleepers). The service was adequate; there was a little "negotiation" at one point regarding use of the parking area, but on the other hand we were offered helpful advice about the city by a member of staff. Would recommend if someone was looking for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Gent and takes approxiamately 1 hour to walk to the City Centre. There was no kettle and there wasn't a shower holder in the bathroom.

Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooks555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

Arrived at the hotel after the short walk from the train station. On seeing the building I had a really bad feeling. The signs and the building in general just look suspect.
The entrance door is very narrow and not welcoming at all. Straight after entering you go down some steps to a very small reception window which again is not very welcoming.
After a swift check-in process we went upstairs (in the dark, as the lights go off automatically after so many seconds, and I couldn't find the switch) to our twin room.

On opening the door I nearly felt sick. The smell of old smoke was overpowering. The bed linen looked dirty. The light was not bright enough which made the room look even worse. The two twin beds were squeezed into a small gap and did not look comfortable at all. The bathroom did not have a proper shower head, just a hand-held device connected to the taps. The tiles were dirty and there was only one set of towels.

There was no air conditioning and I didn't want to open the window due to the large number of mosquitos around. The room even had a fly-killer device on the desk.

I wasn't expecting great things from this hotel based on the price, but after an hour I decided that it wasn't worth putting up with. I woudn't spend a night at this hotel even if you paid me. After an hour my colleagues and I found alternative accomodation at the Best Western Chamade back near the train station and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2005

I stayed at the Adoma at the begining of May 2004 and found it very comfortable, good sized rooms, good breakfast and service, handy for the trains and trams.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2004

Good size rooms, good breakfast. But hotel has 2 tramlines and a mainline station right outside its front door. Heavy goods trains trundled through all night, making sleep impossible when we were there, because it was a hot June night and we'd have suffocated if we hadn't opened the windows.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Gent Sint Pieters
NH Gent Sint Pieters
#19 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
1.5 mi away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#26 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Ghent
Astoria Hotel Ghent
#9 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Europa Hotel
Europa Hotel
#20 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adoma

Property: Adoma
Address: Sint-Denijslaan 19, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adoma 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adoma is een driesterren hotel, gelegen op 200 meter achterkant van het Sint-Pieters station, vlakbij bekendheden zoals de expo-hallen, diverse musea en de universiteit. Er is bovendien een vlotte verbinding met de voornaamste invalswegen van Gent. Tegenover hebt hotel stopt de tram die U doorheen de stad loodst. Het hotel beschikt tevens over beperkte gratis parkeerfaciliteit.parking reserveren niet mogelijk, openbaar parkeren is mogelijk bij het hotel zelf, kost 3€/24h, zon- en feestdagen gratis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Adoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing