We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent a night there during the recent music festival. It is an excellent hotel and is well located for excursions into the centre of the Old Town. Beware the lift though - it only takes 2 people at a time so if you're not prepared to walk, getting up and down can take time. The breakfast room is a little crowded / intimate but the breakfast, whilst typically continental, was good. The family room on the top floor (sleeps 3/4) is good value and very roomy. Pre-arrange parking in their garage across the road as otherwise parking could be problematic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanA147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    68
    38
    23
See reviews for
21
100
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

the location is perfect, the service is excellent, the breakfast is good but the Hotel is in urgent need of renovation. It is just dated and it shows! We were lucky that temperatures were only around 20C - if it gets warmer the rooms will be sticky anh hot...

Also - for the state of the Hotel the prices are not justifiable

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After a very positive stay in February (see earlier review) I returned to Gent and the Cour St. Georges last week.

Everything I wrote about perfect location and good service remains valid, but I begin to understand some of the criticism levelled at the rooms. Last time I had a room on the 1st floor above the entrance and was very happy with it. This time I had room #2 on the ground floor at the back. On paper it should have been a better room, slightly larger with a bath instead of a shower, and a private balcony outside.

Unfortunately it was hellishly hot - despite very average (+-19C) temperatures outside. The central heating radiators weren't to blame, it was actually a section of wall that was almost painfully hot to the touch. Apparently the hot water plumbing was completely uninsulated there. Thoughtful staff had placed a large fan next to the bed, and with open windows, a single sheet and the fan at full blast I had a pleasant night - but I dread to think what a really hot night would have been like.

Also the bathroom looked luxurious with marble and chrome everywhere, but the hose connecting the tap to the shower head over the bath was too short, so I couldn't have the shower at full height. As I'm fairly tall, that meant having to bend over to get completely covered.

In the end I still had an OK stay, but I'm much less lyrical than I was last time. Advice is to keep away from rooms at the back on the left. It's stil a nice hotel, but your mileage may vary dramatically depending on the room. Bigger isn't necessarily better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the rear on the left. At the front seems a better choice even if potentially noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dion_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
276 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June. It was a last minute booking but we were very satisfied with everything from the friendly staff to the excellent breakfast buffet.
We got a great room, overlooking the street and another old building. The room was clean, spacious and the bed was comfortable.
You can park your bike across the street but use several locks as there are a lot of bike thefts in the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallarate, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

it's a quite old hotel but the personal is really friendly. The only good thing is that is close to the center. I dont think this hotel is good for businnes trip, maybe it's better for romantic weekend. The breakfast is too much poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The room was very spacious the bed was really good. Staff was perfect, always ready to help. Located right in the middle of Ghent. However, the room in the ground floor is right in front of the maids room. On the morning they talk outside the room and make a lot of noise.

Room Tip: The room in the ground floor is right in front of the maids room. On the morning they talk outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arrival and check in was quick and efficient, private parking opposite the hotel was very welcome. Room was good and had all we needed for our two night stay, however, remember to take a travel kettle, mugs, coffee etc as like most hotels on the Continent these are not provided as standard. If you forget, there is a great little shop close by where you can buy these items. Don't expect to find an English news chanel on the TV, although some programmes had English sub titles. Location is excellent and everywhere in Ghent can be walked to easily. Breakfast was good and all tastes seemd to be catered for. Staff were friendly, respectful and courteous and responded quickly to requests for more loo roll!! We would definately return to this historical hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and had double doors leading out onto a fire escape which we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whittlesf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erasmus
Erasmus
#21 of 37 in Ghent
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges

Property: Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
Address: Hoogpoort 75 - 77, Ghent 9000, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel incorporating Historic Building dating from 1228, which now houses Restaurant & Registration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ghent
Ghent Best Western
Best Western Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing