We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed October 21, 2012

perfect location, wonderful old building, extremely pleasant and helpful staff. however, décor of rooms seemed a little tired, although to be fair, it seems they are in the middle of upgrading and redecorating, so maybe best return in a couple of months.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serioussquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed for one night enroute back to UK. Very pleasant stay -located in the centre and close to many old sights in Ghent. The room was large, very clean and staff very pleasant. Breakfast was included (buffet, including sausage/bacon/egg). The only one critisism was that the available parking(charged extra) was limited and could be tight if you have large vehicle. Otherwise excellent and would stay again. Free Wi-fi

Room Tip: Arrive early to 'reserve' your parking.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick65UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The room was pleasantly furnished and decorated, small but not cramped. The bathroom was modern but very small, at 6 feet 3 inches tall the toilet was almost impossible to use (but necessity overcame !). Why the installer did not rotate it by 90 degrees to make it more accessible is a mystery!
We ate breakfast, which was excellent, on the quiet terrace in the central courtyard but the dining room was decorated in keeping with the era of the building, 1780s, which we found very pleasant. The hot food was constantly replenished and freshly cooked.
All of the staff were excellent and spoke perfect English.
There is a parking garage opposite but, if you are travelling by car, you are unlikely to find a space (according to the desk clerk) if you arrive after about 2:00 pm. However the secure underground car park about 600 meters away under the Vrijdagmarkt (Friday Market) which the staff suggested was excellent and cost 14.50 Euros instead of 28 Euros if we had used the hotel parking. You can access your car 24 hours a day and it has manned video surveillance so you feel that your car is very safe.
The only major criticism we had was the almost intolerable heat in the room. The weather was very warm and even with two large, floor standing fans provided by the hotel and a smaller travelling fan, which we carried, all running at full speed, my wife and I found it difficult to sleep during the first night. When I commented to the lady on the desk that the hotel desperately needs air conditioning she nodded knowingly! Clearly they receive this comment very often.
The cost of the stay was reasonable in relation to the amenities and location and we would probably stay there when we next visit Gent -as long as it is not hot, high summer!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good: everyone working there, without exception, were kind and friendly and helpful. Special mention for Tom on the front desk...went way beyond expectations with directions, suggestions, etc. Really, the people couldn't be nicer. Location is great for exploring Gent without quite being in the noisiest part of it. For the money, and bearing in mind the cost of your alternatives in this city, it was priced fairly.
The not-so-good: it's an old, creaky hotel, and it shows in every way. If it's hot, you'll have to open the windows and get eaten by mosquitos. The beds are serviceable, but just barely.
Summary: if you want value and aren't that concerned with comfort and quality, this is your place. If you want luxury, top-line conveniences, etc., then you may want to try somewhere else. If friendliness and helpfulness are important, this place gets bonus points.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We didn't book this hotel in advance. It was a spur of the moment thing. It turned out to be a good choice. The hotel is in a really good location for all attractions, the main restaurant area and canal are maybe 5 mins walk.
The staff are very friendly, when we arrived the lady on reception (I think her name is Zoo?) was particularly helpful in giving us info on the city etc.
the main downside of the hotel was that as it has wooden floors you can hear them creaking from the floor above. Decor is a bit dated but rooms were clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ispy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Good, clean hotel, friendly staff, hearty breakfast, with private garage parking (advance notice needed). Located in the heart of the city, close to all attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calse98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here and enjoyed it for the following reasons. The room I got was actually nice. The floors were creaking but it was bearable. It was clean, nice and with a clean bathroom. There was a big selection of breakfast and it was tasty. The tables are close to each other but again it was fine and not an issue.
The location is more than perfect to go around the beautiful sights of Ghent. It is right in the heart of it all! The staff were friendly and the price was right.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexTgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.0 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#16 of 37 in Ghent
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges

Address: Hoogpoort 75 - 77, Ghent 9000, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $110 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel incorporating Historic Building dating from 1228, which now houses Restaurant & Registration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ghent
Ghent Best Western
Best Western Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing