We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Boatel”
Review of Hotel the Boatel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel the Boatel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed May 20, 2006

We stayed in the deluxe triple, which was a delight. The decor was fresh and inviting, with some wonderful antiques. The cabin was really large with a king bed and a single. As it was at the back of the boat, there were windows on three sides. There was free wireless internet access, which was very useful. The friendly captain and his mother served a lovely breakfast in the splendid breakfast room. It was a unique experience, and one we would gladly repeat.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2005

I've stayed at the Boatel several times & only didn't book in on my 2005 trip to Gent because it was full. It is a wonderful place to stay. The "Captain" is welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts are lovingly prepared. The rooms, both standard & luxury (shower in one, bath in the other) are huge and have excellent facilities. And at how many other hotels can you look out of your porthole (yes really) and see a duck swim past? Oh & there is a small deck where you can picnic in fine weather. A short walk away from the city centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ptahsuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank titagero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moorschnucke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank depittekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawatdee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank mirijaracki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.7 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.6 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel the Boatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel the Boatel

Address: Voorhoutkaai 44, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: $147 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel the Boatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boatel Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing