We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dishonest - avoid like the plague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Azur Beauty & Wellness
Ranked #36 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dishonest - avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

There was a booking problem with one of the main 'Booking' websites and my reservation was not allocated to my account. When I came to check details there was nothing showing on my account so I figured I had messed it up. I subsequently booked the Gent Ibis Opera instead.

This was mostly my fault I'll admit - though learn from my mistake and make sure you are logged in to your account when you book. I tried to explain the situation but received threats of court action over non-payment. Amazing since I had secured the rooms by CC. While I was happy to pay for the 'no show' costs for the first night, the B&B Azur proceeded to take a second night (against cancellation policy) as well. They then refused to refund the additional night offering a 'discount'. So in summary, aggressive, threatening and ultimately dishonest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JamesP37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    3
    24
See reviews for
3
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked our room on Booking.com for 37 Euro. We were contacted via email the night before to say there had been an error witht the booking and the price was wrong, the new price was now 59 Euro, but stil without breakfast. The excuse we were given was that Booking.com made the error.... please do not lie to people. I happen to work in a Hotel that uses Booking.com and I am well aware that the user has to determine the price themselves and that Booking.com has nothing to do with setting the rate. We were told we could cancel for free if we wanted to, however, it was too late and we could not find any affordable acommodation. We contacted Booking.com directly to see if they could resolve the problem for us. They telephoned the Hotel and managed to get them to change the price to 50 Euro. We agreed.... but maybe we should have just stayed elsewhere. The room itself was fairly clean and the bed was comfortable but there was a tanning bed in our bathroom... I was confused as to what would happen if someone wanted to hire it? Also, the toilet was upstairs and I have seen bigger facilities on an aircraft. There was no soap or shower gel either. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted to hire the sauna for the evening at the cost of 60 Euro!!! In England that would be 3 months membership! Maybe this is why we never saw any customers in the salon. We were also asked if we wanted breakfast at 15 Euro each but I did wonder where/how it was served as we did not see a breakfast room and also noticed cutlery, plates and a toaster in the bedroom. This whole building was very strange to me. It was more like staying in a strangers spare bedroom rather than a Hotel or Bed & Breakfast. Oh and also, the TV is still broken.

However, the location is brilliant and surely they could make more money operating properly as B&B rather than a beauty salon? But as it is, we will not return.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoneyMuffinPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Friday for two nights and we were quite surprised!. We arrived about 9pm and a guy was waiting for us downstairs to check us in. There is a spa downstairs which is strange but I didn't expect your usual Travelodge or premier inn! The guy left as soon as he checked us in. The place wasn't manned all weekend which was fine for us. Aftee reading the reviews I was not looking forward to.azur but our room was lovely. Clean sheets comfy bed and nicely decorated! There was a sunbed in our bathroom which was strange but again we didn't mind! The toilet wasn't in the room which was the only bad part as you had to go upstairs bt we didntspend. much time in the room! We only wanted a clean bed and room which is what we got! Great location too. This is a different little place...if.you are expecting Hilton u will be disappointed but we would stay again if in gent!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Если это читаете, НИКОГДА не останавливайтесь в этом отеле. Там нет людей на ресепшене, да и ресепшена нет как такового, а по указанным телефонам никто не ответит, поэтому заплатить вы не сможете и с вас будут требовать данные кредитки и грозить подать в суд. С меня, в итоге, выбили 100 евро в ночь. Никакого вайфая, телевизора и спа, который они обещают там нет.

***

The curtain rod is broken, that there is only one pillow of normal size (the others are too small) and one set of towels though the room is for two guests. There is no soap and no toilet paper. The temperature inside the fridge is higher than outside. (I found a package of rotten mayonnaise in the fridge) TV is broken. NO WI-FI though it is promised. But all this is nothing compared to the main trouble. When you come to the place you find a SPA salon there. A closed SPA salon. The small note on the door says that you have to call the indicated number if you booked the room. I did so but nobody answered so I left a message to the voice mail. In a few minutes I received an SMS in a language I could not even identify. The waitress from the neighbor café translated the message for me. It said that I had to go round the corner to the next street, enter through the door and go upstairs where I would find the room with the key in the keyhole. Well... everything seemed to be all right. But there was no staff in this hotel. Nobody came to check my reservation and receive pay. Nobody answered calls so I had to leave without paying for the room. Now I'm calling and sending him letters trying to come to an agreement about the way of paying but I haven't received any answer yet. It is a real bother! As a result I had to pay more than 100 euros for night. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

• Toilet was not in the room, but in the hallway, it was the smallest toilet I've ever seen.
• The towels were fusty and smelt terribly.
• The little dustbin wasn't emptied.
• TV didn't work.
• They claim that there's free wifi? Well, there was no wifi.
• The clothes cupboard was used by themselves, very messy.
• I'm not saying that the bedsheet hadn't been washed, but there were definitely stains in it that didn't come out. So don't put it back on the bed in your B&B!
• I didn't order breakfast. Maybe that's a good thing. But I think that if you have a B&B breakfast should be included in the price, not 15 euro extra per person. Hence the second B, for breakfast.
Although the location was very good, I was not a happy bunny at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soeziegoezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosdaal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Terrible bed(dirty sheets and towels) and NO breakfast, no warm water and at at night a hell of noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges
0.2 mi away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#26 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.5 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Azur Beauty & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Azur Beauty & Wellness

Property: B&B Azur Beauty & Wellness
Address: Vlaanderenstraat 7, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Azur Beauty & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing