We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View's”

Belfry and Cloth Hall (Belfort en Lakenhalle)
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.87*
and up
Day Trip to Ghent from Brussels
More Info
$165.98*
and up
Private Tour: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels
Ranked #7 of 176 things to do in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This municipal tower was a symbol of the city's autonomy, begun in 1313 and completed in 1380.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great View's”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I almost always take the time to go to the top of places like this to enjoy the views and get some great photographs. It was €5 to get in when I went. Narrow stairs and passages up top are not for everyone. There is an elevator that will take you most of the way up but there are still a few flights of stairs that you must take. For anyone who enjoys getting a good view of a city and taking some good photos of the surrounding area this is a can't miss spot.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank I_Like_First_Class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    376
    96
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting and perilous”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is an authentic ancient building, and its number one attraction is to let you visit the inside and admire the huge proportions and the heavy irregular stonework and the massive beams and the crazy stairs and its general alienness to modern concerns of comfort, safety or ergonomics.
As a bonus, inside you can see the clockwork mechanisms, some discarded bells from the carillon, an educational video on bell founding, some models, and the like; there is also a gallery up the tower where you can have a beautiful view of surroundings: the Cathedral, Saint Nicholas' Church, etc.
The stairs are very perilous and cannot entirely be avoided since the lift (which is something of an antiquity itself) only starts at the first floor; anyone who is not an athlete or an equilibrist be warned. But with due care no accidents are to be expected, it really is something you want to have visited in Ghent, and it makes for an interesting experience of a world long gone by.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BDManding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't get the hype- not worth the money”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we paid the 5 euro we already had buyers remorse. I don't quite get what everyone on Trip Advisor saw that we didn't but for once I have to disagree with my fellow reviewers on this one! We just climbed up, saw some bells, saw the drum and the view was just not nice. Maybe when everyone else went there wasn't as much construction but all our photos have ugly crains in them. Perhaps the view was better before our visit. Ah well.

Helpful?
Thank MartinezPitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“only worthwhile if you have the Ghent city pass”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For 20E, you can get a museum pass that gets you into almost all sites, plus free local transportation. A good deal, but only if you're staying two or three days, and work at taking advantage of it.
I'd say the Belfry is worthwhile only if you have the pass. You can see the carillon, and get some good views, and spend half an hour pleasantly. And then it'll be time to move on.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank apt5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Buy yourself a ticket, first go down to see the stucture of the building and then start the long winding stairs ... Luckily it goes in floors, on the first you can see some smaller clocks and the mechanism and a video film, further up, you can see the mechanism of the big clocks, suite impressive. you can go a bit further up to see where the belfort player sits and off course don't forget to enjoy the impressive views of Ghent. Ow jay there is also a lift foor to floors but that not a real tourist now is it!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lies M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belfry and Cloth Hall (Belfort en Lakenhalle) also viewed

 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Belfry and Cloth Hall (Belfort en Lakenhalle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing