We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cake and tea!”
Review of Julie's House

Julie's House
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Julie's House serves a daily choice of delicious brunches, artisanal pies and colorful home-made cupcakes.We are a cozy pastry house overlooking the Leie river in the middle of Ghent 's historic center. Our "cake-ladies" love hosting you in our beautiful pastry house surrounded by the grandeur of the Gravensteen castle, the authenticity of the Patershol and the relaxed atmosphere by the water.Check out our window display of fun teapots, cups, saucers and other china. In addition to our little restaurant we also deliver to small and big venues, both to private individuals and professionals.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely cake and tea!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Ahh a home from home. A lovely breakfast tea served with a slice of lemon pie and my partner had the creme brûlée.
Great service, we thought the cakes were slightly overpriced at €3.80 but if we were to visit Ghent again, we'd stop off here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank btsmith_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    144
    31
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic (cup)cakes!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Cake and tea at Julie's is a must when spending time in Gent. This place is ridiculously busy, but definitely worth the waiting for a table. All cakes and cupcakes look delicious and the atmosphere in the place is superb. A bit expensive, but I want to come back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heuvie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Deliciously sweet”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Probably one of the nicest places in Ghent center, you should really try it when you get the chance!
Not only is there a big choice from several cupcakes (including some strange, but tasty, combinations), pies and other baked goods. There's also plenty of options for drinks, including a blend of the best earl gray tea i've probably ever tasted. There's also a few breakfast options, so there's a share for everyone!
To finish it of, the seatings are very cosy and you can have a lovely time just chatting about with your sweets and drinks. (If possible, get a seat near the window for extra atmosphere and a great sight on the beauty of Ghent.) Seats are limited, but with a little patience (or reserved seats), that shouldn't be much of a problem :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Lovely little place for tea and dessert”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Julie's House is a minute away from the castle. I must have stepped into here about 4 times. My afternoon tea was just delightful. This place gets quite busy so time your dessert break appropriately. There is a lovely selection of cupcakes, cakes, pies, brownies and other desserts. The best part is as you wait in line to be seated there are samples. If you plan on having breakfast make a reservation. The place is popular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful in every way”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We found this little gem tucked away along one of the most beautiful streets in Ghent. After reading how popular it was and not having a booking, we arrived at 9am on the dot when it opened. We were greeted by Julie who was extremely welcoming and showed us to a seat at the balcony bar, where you overlook the delicious cake counter.

The waitress then came over and explained the menu to us in English, and like everyone we have met in Ghent she was very friendly and helpful.

The food was absolutely stunning, the coffee was gorgeous and the juice was really fresh and tasty. It's hard to say which thing was my favourite, my dippy boiled egg was cooked perfectly, the ham, cheese and bread were delicious, and we also had some Belgian pastries and scones. The homemade Cherry Jam was really lovely so we bought a pot to bring home.

An amazingly unique little
Bakery that is a world away from the plastic franchises in the UK. They run out of things, as you would expect, but there are plenty of other delicious cakes and pastries to try instead.

Wonderful experience that we can't wait to repeat next time!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julie's House also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Julie's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing