We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away from room 215”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Gent Sint Pieters
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed last weekend in this hotel with my husband and 3 years old son. We had booked a superior room while our friends booked a standard rooms (two rooms). We arrived at the hotel late around 10 pm. The check in was ok, we did not wait long and were given room 215. The room was really huge which really impressed me with parquet floor. But the beds!!! I think these were the worst beds that we slept. There were two twin beds and they were just like a tramboline. You feel every spring on your body. We could not sleep and get rest at the end. contrary, the beds in the standard room were perfect, I checked it myself. none of our 4 friends had problem. I told the problem to the receptionist about the problem and received an indifferent face! I think there was a problem with our room. Nonthing was complete. There were no telephone directory at the room. We could not find how to call other rooms and reception. There were no extra pillow, no extra sheet.

Room Tip: There is no need to pay for extra to the superior room. If your beds are not good, ask the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 551 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nice and clean room.
a little odd entrance or hall

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located at a few hundred meters from the train station, so this is a plus if traveling with bulky luggage. It is however not as close to the center, but it is possible to walk there in about 25 minutes. It is also possible to catch a tram from the train station that stops right in the center.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by an efficient and friendly desk clerk that gave us all the needed info.
I found the room disappointing though: it was big, but not really well-kept. The windows did not open, but did not close too well either, the wall around the frame of the window had a couple of holes and extensive patches of mold and, as it rained in the afternoon, the windowsills on the inside had big puddles of water.
We had a triple room and the added bed was a pull-down couch: the mattress was very, very thin and the bottom frame did not run for the whole length of the bed (only some strips of fabric towards the bottom), so it was not possible to sit in that area, else you would find yourself on the floor below the bed. The couch itself had several stains and looked dirty and there were couple of hair on the bed sheets. The bathroom was large enough, but it too looked “tired” and in need of a bit of make-over. The button to turn the shower on especially did not stay in place when pulled and it took a while to make it work. Once it did, water pressure and water temperature were good.
The room had a desk with chair, a cupboard with tv (old type which could not turn, so it is only possible to watch from the couch) and fridge, a couch (the pull down sofa bed) and a big bed (made of two large singles) with bed side tables. There was also a wardrobe.
The breakfast room was ok, albeit not an especially inviting room. It was however practical and the food selection was adequate: it included coffee/tea, juices, cereals, milk and yoghurt, cold cuts and cheese, scrambled eggs, a selection of bread and small pastries, cake and fresh fruits.
The NH Sint Pieters serves the scope and i booked it because i could take advantage of a special offer, but I believe it is possible to find better value for money in a beautiful town with plenty of hotels and bed & breakfasts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raging_Hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Good price, nice and clean rooms. It's no restorant, but very close is wonderful pub, restaurant and cafe.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank Zekia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were staying 3 nights in Ghent and planned on using it as a base for excursions to Brugge. The hotel was reasonably close to the train station which was a plus. To get to the city center one could take a longish walk directly; a short bike ride; a short walk to the #1 tram; or take the long way around on the #4 tram which stops close by. We liked Gent, in some ways more than Bruges (less touristy), and liked the hotel. It is somewhat dated in decor, but as we had told the very nice desk clerk that we had just finished a bike/barge trip, she made sure that we had a large (couch in the seating area) quiet room in the back. The bed and the bedding were very good.

We did not take advantage of the breakfast option which looked nice, but preferred to find places in town to eat.

The downside, common this trip to chain hotels, was the irritating charge for internet in the room. There is free internet in the lobby, however you are limited to 30 minutes/day.

The Ghent Fine Arts Museum, close by, was an unexpected highlight - and it was easy to go to the train station and rent bicycles.

Room Tip: Booked on-line. Ask for a quiet room in the back. It is in a generally quiet residential neighborhoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlvn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

a reasonable hotel, nice big rooms but the hotel itself is very outdated and a little stuck in the 70's..

staff reasonably friendly..

breakfast, not for me

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I was there on a business trip with a colleague. We booked 2 rooms, but they have a reservation for only one. It was their mistake and did nothing to repair. Staff was un-profesional and unfriendly. The hotel is old, no fitness center and breakfast poor.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin L, Manager at NH Gent Sint Pieters, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,



Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences you have suffered during your stay with us.

Unfortunately we were dealing with an error in our reservation system and we were unexpected overbooked that night.

Of course this is an unfortunate error where the hotel is taking full responsibility for and explained to you personally.



I hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again in NH Hoteles and that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again.



Kind regards,



Greets from Ghent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Hotel Ghent
Astoria Hotel Ghent
#8 of 39 in Ghent
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Sint Pieters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Sint Pieters

Address: Koning Albertlaan 121, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ghent
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: $81 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Sint Pieters 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star NH Gent Sint Pieters hotel is located in a charming residential section of Ghent close to the railway station. The historical center of the city can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Gent Sint Pieters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Gent Sint Pieters Hotel Ghent
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing