We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older building in a wonderful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gravensteen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gravensteen
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Older building in a wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We selected this hotel on the basis of its great location in the centre of Ghent. The small but stately bedroom was comfortable and our only gripe was that the bathroom walls stopped well short of the ceiling! The hotel was peaceful and staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms in 2 separate buildings; the rear building is closer to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Terry G.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Gravensteen. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I appreciate your comment in refer to the bathroom ceiling and we'll have a look into this matter.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    255
    105
    36
    20
See reviews for
63
266
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Gravensteen is an ideal base for exploring Gent. Centraly located, comfortable and easy to find a parking space for the bike. The room we had was spacious and comfortable. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast, although a bit expensive, was filling and a good selection was on offer. We thought we had made a good choice with this hotel and I feel sure you will agree after your stay. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 62 is quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 103Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Jay,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your nice feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We very much look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Gravensteen in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arranged a weekend away via AA Getaways and we found the Gravensteen Hotel to be very central to the town of Ghent. The hotel was very clean, modern in its decoration and the continental breakfast was excellent. All rooms had a TV however being english we did miss not having tea and coffee making facilities in our rooms although there was a mini bar. We arrived at the hotel and were met by a very friendly lady on reception who gave us all the information we needed with reference to visiting Gent along with advice to book a restaurant on the Friday and Saturday evening because it would be very busy and difficult to get a table. Having had a problem with our safe a gentleman came to our room immediatley and sorted it out for us. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends, it is so central to the city, everything is in walking distance with many good restaurants near by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KAREN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grave1, Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you again. TIP! In July the Ghent (Folklore) Festival takes place; 10 days long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Gravensteen hotel for two nights whilst visiting Ghent. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for its location, rooms and buffet breakfast. The room was very spacious and comfortable with a good size bathroom. My only complaint and I am being really petty is that I would have liked more towels and tea, milk coffee etc. On that note I would like to say that the breakfast was an excellent continental buffet breakfast with a good choice on offer.

Room Tip: Room 62 was very quiet and spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel has taken over several adjoining buildings. The entrance is through a glass door into what used to be a carriageway through into a courtyard. It all feels very special. Reception, however, sets the tone for the remainder of the building. The reception desk closes off an area under the stairs, and two other rooms off this entrance also seem to suggest ingenious use of strange-shaped spaces. To get to my room provided many opportunities for getting lost - upstairs, along short angled corridors, down stairs, along again, round more odd-shaped corners, up, down, left and right, ending finally in a room whose initial visual impact was "functional". In fact, it was more than functional, and indeed comfortable, clean and spacious.

To get to breakfast I had to go past reception out of the building I was in, along the carriageway, through the courtyard, into another building, up a couple of flights of stairs, and along a corridor. The breakfast room was a little cramped, but breakfast itself excellent except for the orange juice.

The reception staff speak excellent English, and are courteous and helpful. Beware, though! I asked on two separate occasions for directions, and in each case, was told to set of in exactly the wrong direction. The first time was perhaps excusable, since I was looking for a street that the person might not have known, but the second time - I wanted to go to the central station. I was told to cross the road and take the tram from that side. Which takes you out of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Gravensteen is located right next to the Castle. Arriving by train get Tram 1 from the station - almost to the door. Excellent breakfast served in annexe at rear of building was great as our very quiet room was in the same block. Many good restaurants and bars on the doorstep. Room very comfortable and spacious and..... importantly in our stay, nice and warm, street temperature was arctic !! Buy tram ticket from Travel Office at station. You must validate ticket on the tram by pressing a zone number. Nobody seems to check who has tickets and we appeared to be the only people paying !
Gravesteen hotel's ONLY problem was there was no internet as advertised owing to a technical breakdown - however, in our 3 day stay they did not manage to get it fixed. This was a massive inconvenience that surely could have been put right.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear annexe are closer to breakfast room and nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiodeJaneiroWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our stay was part of a package with Eurostar included and had been allocated room 14. Despite contacting the hotel by email we were disappointed to find this was a cramped and dark small double which, although it had a castle view (limited), it made us want to check out immediately. Although this was clean and adaquate we decided to pay for an upgrade and were offerred room 22 which was spacious, bright and had an excellent view of the castle and the city streets. There was also complementary tea and coffee facilites and, a nice touch for a three star hotel, bathrobes and slippers. There was also a huge wall mounted tv which could receive BBC channels and a mini-bar. Bathroom basic but clean and all you require including lovely toiletries.
Breakfast was excellent - a sort of de-luxe continental style and the coffee was, as one would expect in Belgium, really good.
A small bar on site with a nice decor and limited but adequate range of spirits - we didnt try wines and beers. There is a sauna/fitness centre which we didnt use and private parking is available but I think there is a charge for this.
Altogether a relaxing and very pleasant stay in a nice little hotel with a great city centre location and five minutes walk from all the major sites.

Room Tip: Go for room 22 if you can reserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LDAPamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gravensteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravensteen

Property: Hotel Gravensteen
Address: Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravensteen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
49 comfortable rooms with private bathroom.Trendy lounge / Bar.Patio,Fitness and sauna.Cosy breakfast room,15 private parking places1 meeting rooms with daylight,Free wireless internet,Central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gravensteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravensteen Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing