We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Typical Holiday Inn”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Rumour has it that if one can find this hotel without getting lost, the guests are given a free dinner. Once one has mastered getting to the hotel, beware of a few extra charges. While the price states 'including all taxes', there is an extra 2.50 euros/day/guest added by the city of Ghent. In addition, if one has a car, there is a 10 euro/day charge for parking. Finally the 15 euro charge for breakfast seems quite high.
Apart from that, the hotel is comfortable although the rooms are a little on the small side, the staff is friendly and helpful. Be sure to ask for a morning room make up or this may be quite late in the afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaunestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Jason C,

My best wishes for the new year and thank you for reviewing Holiday Inn Gent Expo with these great rates. The access to our hotel is indeed more complicated due to road works in progress in this area. To make it easier for our guests to reach the hotel, a few signs have been placed around The Loop saying ‘hotel’ or ‘Holiday Inn’. Not included in the room rate is the city tax and parking which should be indicated at the website you’ve booked with. Until next time and take care.

Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    265
    169
    50
    14
See reviews for
113
194
25
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vleuten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is very clean, and the rooms are great.
But the hotel is not in the centre. You can walk but it will take you 60 minutes.
Other options is the tram.
We went by car to the city which was easy and quick. (and on sunday we had free parking)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Jason C,

My best wishes for the new year and thank you for reviewing Holiday Inn Gent Expo with these great rates. The access to our hotel is indeed more complicated due to road works in progress in this area. To make it easier for our guests to reach the hotel, a few signs have been placed around The Loop saying ‘hotel’ or ‘Holiday Inn’. Not included in the room rate is the city tax and parking which should be indicated at the website you’ve booked with. Until next time and take care.

Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Located out by the Flanders Expo this hotel is perfect if you are in Ghent for a trade show, not so perfect for a weekend getaway to have a look around Ghent however. From Ghent Saint Pieter station it's a 10 minute tram ride directly to the hotel.

The hotel itself is nice enough, the rooms have the amenities you would expect, including free wifi. The front desk staff are lovely and can't do enough for you to ensure you have everything you need. The restaurant was "so so", better options to eat in town of course.

Stayed here a few times now and always find it to offer a nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestopinions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Honestopinions77,
Please let me thank you for your honest opinion and for choosing Holiday Inn Gent Expo for your temporary home when you need to visit Ghent or Flanders Expo. As you already experienced our staff is always available to help you out with any kind of problem or request. When you are participating an exhibition next door, our hotel is perfectly located for you. No need to wake up too early to be on time at the exhibition hall since it is only 2 minutes walking. To explore the highlights of Ghent when staying with us there is a good tram connection between Flanders Expo and the town centre. We would love to welcome you again at the hotel in 2014!

Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ha Long
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel provided all amenities expected of a quality hotel. Ideal for anyone with business at IKEA or Expo Center as these are next door. Tram travel to city center available a convenient few minutes walk away. More difficult to travel via auto as there are several exits to navigate to get into town. Buffet breakfast available at extra charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Liveabroad,
I am glad to read you appreciated the provided amenities by the hotel and its easy connection with the tram to get into town. We always recommend our guests to use the public transport instead of driving by your own car. The tram gives you less stress because there is no need to worry about finding a parking spot or taking the right exit. I would love being able to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Gent Expo.

Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our stay was marred by the constant rumble of the air conditioning units from the nearby Expo conference centre and on our last night by the sound of running water from the drainage system (there was heavy rain)

We had to change our room at 1.30am and in the morning, staff appeared to be unaware of the problems we had had the night before - but were good enough to give us a 50% discount on our last night's stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you are the other side from the Expo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brymac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Brymac9,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the ambient noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very good hotel next to the tram which takes you to the centre in 20 mins. Special notice and thanks to the guy who saw us looking confused in the centre of Ghent at the tram station (before we'd even checked in), offered us advice without us even asking, and who I then saw the next day on reception of Ghent Expo Holiday Inn! I couldn't believe it! He represented your hotel fantastically whilst not even on shift or in uniform. He summed up the friendliness of the Belgian people perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Billy K,
Thank you so much for this heart-warming comment you’ve written about our staff and Belgian people. By giving us these amazing rates I notice you’ve clearly enjoyed your stay with us thanks to the friendliness of our staff – and Dennie in particularly – as well as the easy connection with the tram to get into the city centre. This special thanks from you goes to a very great trainee we’ve had in the last 5 months. He loves to help people out as he did with you that day at the railway station. Let us hope you’ll come and visit Belgium again to explore more of Ghent. Have a wonderful Christmas and a happy new year!
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Second visit to this hotel, arrived from a long drive and we were upgraded as Platinum members to an executive room. The hotel is starting to look a little tired in the corridors and rooms, room clean enough with massive bed. They provide an Nespresso type coffee machine and kettle on one side of the room and an office space on the other, problem is there are no power sockets anywhere in the room apart from next to the office area so you have to carry the coffee machine over to the other side of the room! Searched for information booklet to get times of restaurant and room service but nothing found until I came across a letter from the manager informing guests that all information was on the interactive tv, unfortunately the tv was only a tv, with no interactivity just a blank screen. On reporting this to the front desk there seemed to be confusion as to if and when this would work, we went out and on our return were informed it could not be made to work and were presented with a printed menu. Called room service later and asked to confirm the menu to be told its all on the interactive tv!!! After explaining the tv was anything but interactive we ordered food and wine which was delivered promptly. Room was around the corner from the lifts but still suffered from machinery noise which disturbed sleep. Breakfast was a €15 addition and to be honest is not worth it, yes it has cooked and cold selections but only as far as scrambled eggs, mushrooms and meat, selection of fruit and yogurts, if your on your way to Brugge or similar better to wait and pick up something there, unless your with a coach party which seem to descend onto the dining area and devour everything. The staff were efficient and polite throughout and I was given a free drink due to the inconvenience of the tv, one other strange thing is they have a newly refurbished bar to the side of reception but its only open on certain days through the week! I would commend the staff on their efficient check in and check out and answer of queries but the hotel needs a facelift and someone who knows how to get the tv's working correctly so as to avoid confusion. The hotel has WiFi at differing speeds, having just come from the Holiday Inn in Baden Baden which had supersonic WiFi I was disappointed with the speed in Ghent, even though I had free business WiFi it was insufficient to stream movies or tv. Also as with other comments on Tripadvisor unless you have been before you will get lost and miss the turning, so you will either end up in Ikea or back on the motorway, bigger signs needed after the Expo centre

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grindlehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Platinum Member

Thank you for your loyalty by staying with us for the second time. Your opinion is very important to us to improve our services where needed and there for please let me thank you for your time to write this review. We love to spoil our Platinum Members by giving them one of our seven king executive rooms which I hope you enjoyed after the long drive you’ve had. When reading your review I noticed the confusion there was about your television. Our room service menu and other information about the hotel is only available on the television screen so I fully understand the issue this caused when you wanted to order from our room service.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing