We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, great start for our tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Eardisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, great start for our tour”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The reviews had told us that the hotel was on the outskirts of Gent, it was like staying at the NEC near Birmingham as it is the Expo hotel. We also knew it might be hard to find, it was and even after 4 days we still drove the wrong way occasionally ... Easier to see than drive to, but the hotel proved ideal for us. We were using it as a base to visit Brugge one day and Brussels another day and it is within 30 miles of both. Getting to Gent was easy on the tram, the station is 5 minutes away and Gent centre 15 minutes away on the tram.

The hotel itself was excellent, clean, superb breakfast included in our price, dog friendly, with the Expo Centre and tram station providing good walking opportunities. But what made our visit so good was the excellent and genuine customer service from every member of staff. All helpful, polite and smiling. A service standard rarely matched.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your lovely stay. We are happy to read that our location suited you to visit Brugge and Brussels. It is in fact very convenient as the highway is only 3 minutes away.
On top of that we are honored that are staff made your stay comfortable as you hoped for. We do understand that excellent service, helpful staff and genuine care will make a difference even for our little friends.
Please accept our sincere apologies concerning the road works that challenged you to get here. They will end the 17th June 2013.
If you coming back to Gent or Belgium I hope you will have a wonderful time again in Holiday Inn Gent Expo?
Kind regards


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    267
    170
    50
    14
See reviews for
114
195
25
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It's been a while since I stayed at a Holiday Inn. I had moved away from them as I'd had too many bad experiences. I have stayed at a few of their new Holiday Inn Express facilities that were OK, and had noticed the rebranding (new signage) on the Holiday Inn family, and so thought I'd give this one a tray. Sadly, it felt so much like the old times, that I guess they spent all of their money on re-branding with signs, rather than trying to build their brand legitimately with a high quality customer experience. Walking in, I notice paint peeling off the steps. The check-in was OK. I am told free wi-fi is included. Well, we get to the room and the WiFi is free alright....but so slow that we decide we can't use it and might as well head to bed. Then we get the old Holiday Inn... no shampoo or anything... but here's your bar of soap, and maybe you can figure out what is in the dispenser on the wall. The shower head is cracked, there is mildew in the caulk around the tub. Then my favorite, the sink that does not drain, so you get to see the backwash from the guest who stayed before you, or maybe in this case the 10 guests ...because it is not draining at all. Disgusting.
I just don't understand why a major firm like this does not understand the need to match the competition in quality and concern for their customers. We are now at the Holiday Inn Express in Rotterdam (staying on Points)... much nicer, but still no soap in the bathroom. At least the sink is working tho.

Room Tip: Check to make sure the sink is working and ask for shampoo before you accept the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all I like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us, it will gives us the possibility to improve what is necessary.
We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We agree that your experience in the bathroom is unacceptable. We would be thankful if you could communicate your room number of your stay. With that information we can repair this bathroom immediate.
Our lovely staff are always present for our important customers like you. Please never doubt to talk to them and give us a chance to rectify troubles or let you help when a product or service is not good as expected.
We guarantee you that we are in the middle of planning a renovation of our bathroom areas where required. We are very sorry that this issue is existing after our rebranding.
Internet is getting more and more important, we do understand. We are still evolving in this matter. At this moment we can only offer our gold and platinum members of our chain free high speed internet(upload 256Kb, download 512Kb) and the possibility to send emails with large attachments. The basic internet(upload 128Kb, download 256Kb) that was offered to you, allows you to check emails and for visiting the internet.
We would be glad if you would contact me via my email gm@higentexpo.com to gather more information.
Thank you in advance for your reaction.
Yours sincerely

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
_ The hotel was very good
_ even though is located far away from the city center you can reach it with the tram line number 1 (connecting to the city center and Guillielmine train station) in 20 minutes

Bad:
_ the price was quite high (140€ for a twin room).
_ I had to choose it because was the only left in the city

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertolugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for taking the time to write a review on our products and services.
We are happy to read that our hotel was very good.
We are sure that if a room was left in the city centre you paid 30 Euro more in a four-star-hotel. All Gent hotels included our hotel offers rates based on the occupancy of our hotel. During a low occupied day, our rooms are offered from 70 Euro.
We hope that during a next stay in Gent, it will not so busy for you, which will result in a much lower rate. Keep well and hope to see you next time in Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very comfortable bed and friendly helpful staff. Conveniently located and at the end of the tram line into the centre of town. The hotel ha a special offer. A ticket for 4 people, for €9. Good value and avoids finding parking in the town

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam
Thank you for your very positive review on Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for putting all our challenges on nearly perfect. I’m glad to read that our staff was very helpful and that our location suited you.
The tram in indeed an easy way to get into the town and not so expensive as you can also travel with a group of 10 people on the 10-trip- card for 9,00 Euro.
Thank you again for your enthusiastic comments and if you need to stay in Ghent again, we would be glad to give you the same service again.
Kind regards

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel before but on this occasion, even though the accommodation was very clean and comfortable the meals were very disappointing. Unappetising and unless we dined early there was lack of choice and on 2 occasions insufficient food for everyone. The meals were certainly not as good as on previous visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for writing a review on Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for putting our cleanliness and rooms on perfect and our service and sleep quality on very good.
We are disappointed as well to read that your dinner experience was less. After checking our Manager on Duty log we could not find a report concerning your stay. Please never hesitate to contact our 24/24 M.O.D. They are at your service and to solve any challenge to the guest’s satisfaction.
I would be happy to hear from you during a next stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo. Please contact me via gm@higentexpo.com.
Kind regards

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

it's fine - although I think 4 stars is very generous. room and bathroom clean but sparse (e.g. very small towels!). it is very well located for a tram stop, which is lucky as it is in an extremely bland empty convention park away from this beautiful city and nowhere near restaurants or tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLW938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam
Thank you for taking the time for creating a review on Holiday inn Gent Expo. Based on your comments you create the possibility to improve our products and services.
We are very sorry that you are disappointed about our location but indeed the tram offers a solution to reach Ghent in a very short time. Perhaps in a next visit to Belgium you like to stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo because of the central location to visit Bruges, Antwerp, Brussels and the coast, you saving the trouble to get out of the centre.
Do not hesitate to contact us for any information concerning a next stay in our hotel.
Kind regards

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prerov, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn adjacent to the Flanders (Gent) Expo Center in late April 2013 while working at an exhibition. The hotel is a little dated, but not unbearably so. My room was spacious, but the bathroom was a little narrow. The breakfast buffet was 15€pp and had a classic array of breads, pastries, meats cheeses and warm selections like eggs, beans, sausages and bacon. Not bad but nothing special. Overall I would say that the location is definitely the key advantage to this hotel as it relates to the expo center, but it is generally run of the mill as compared to other convention center hotels you could find.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for mentioning that your stay was overall satisfactory. We are happy to read that we succeeded in the delivery of a good service, food and product.
Off course are location is very convenient if you need to be at the exposition hall. On top of that the tram stop is next door if you want to visit the city centre. Once again, thank you for taking the time for creating a wonderful review. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Gent.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing