We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very comfortable bed and friendly helpful staff. Conveniently located and at the end of the tram line into the centre of town. The hotel ha a special offer. A ticket for 4 people, for €9. Good value and avoids finding parking in the town

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam
Thank you for your very positive review on Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for putting all our challenges on nearly perfect. I’m glad to read that our staff was very helpful and that our location suited you.
The tram in indeed an easy way to get into the town and not so expensive as you can also travel with a group of 10 people on the 10-trip- card for 9,00 Euro.
Thank you again for your enthusiastic comments and if you need to stay in Ghent again, we would be glad to give you the same service again.
Kind regards

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Gent Expo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 634 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel before but on this occasion, even though the accommodation was very clean and comfortable the meals were very disappointing. Unappetising and unless we dined early there was lack of choice and on 2 occasions insufficient food for everyone. The meals were certainly not as good as on previous visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for writing a review on Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for putting our cleanliness and rooms on perfect and our service and sleep quality on very good.
We are disappointed as well to read that your dinner experience was less. After checking our Manager on Duty log we could not find a report concerning your stay. Please never hesitate to contact our 24/24 M.O.D. They are at your service and to solve any challenge to the guest’s satisfaction.
I would be happy to hear from you during a next stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo. Please contact me via gm@higentexpo.com.
Kind regards

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

it's fine - although I think 4 stars is very generous. room and bathroom clean but sparse (e.g. very small towels!). it is very well located for a tram stop, which is lucky as it is in an extremely bland empty convention park away from this beautiful city and nowhere near restaurants or tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLW938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam
Thank you for taking the time for creating a review on Holiday inn Gent Expo. Based on your comments you create the possibility to improve our products and services.
We are very sorry that you are disappointed about our location but indeed the tram offers a solution to reach Ghent in a very short time. Perhaps in a next visit to Belgium you like to stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo because of the central location to visit Bruges, Antwerp, Brussels and the coast, you saving the trouble to get out of the centre.
Do not hesitate to contact us for any information concerning a next stay in our hotel.
Kind regards

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn adjacent to the Flanders (Gent) Expo Center in late April 2013 while working at an exhibition. The hotel is a little dated, but not unbearably so. My room was spacious, but the bathroom was a little narrow. The breakfast buffet was 15€pp and had a classic array of breads, pastries, meats cheeses and warm selections like eggs, beans, sausages and bacon. Not bad but nothing special. Overall I would say that the location is definitely the key advantage to this hotel as it relates to the expo center, but it is generally run of the mill as compared to other convention center hotels you could find.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for mentioning that your stay was overall satisfactory. We are happy to read that we succeeded in the delivery of a good service, food and product.
Off course are location is very convenient if you need to be at the exposition hall. On top of that the tram stop is next door if you want to visit the city centre. Once again, thank you for taking the time for creating a wonderful review. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Gent.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

An absolute pig to get to and if you miss the turn then you end up having to do a major detour to have another go. If you have heavy bags drop them first and then park the car as access from the car park to the hotel is via a steep winding stair. The hotel staff are superb and the restaurant is ok too (typical of Holiday Inn) with the added interest of Belgian beers. The rooms however are very ropey and being platinum I often get an upgrade but having experienced normal and exec at this hotel I can confirm the upgrade to be to a bigger ropey room. There is something missing with this hotel and I can't quite put my finger on what it is as it does have the potential to be a great place.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Sir,Madam,
First of all I hope that you had a safe trip back home. Thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent expo and for taking the time for all your compliments and constructive advices.
We are currently working in order to improve the accessibility. We have put already 6 additional sings and we will put some extra. That must be the solution to reach the hotel easily.
Thank you for confirming that our staff is very focused on service and tries to be one step ahead to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. We are planning shortly some changes in the rooms. We hope that we may welcome you again in Holiday Inn Gent Expo during your next visit in Gent.
Yours sincerely

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had 4 nights at this hotel as part of a Shearings trip to The Netherlands and Belgium. Room was clean and well-serviced throughout the stay; bed comfortable and bathroom more than adequate. Food was buffet style for both breakfast and dinner and there was an excellent choice at both times. Staff were friendly and helpful. This is a business/coach tour hotel so there are no facilities nearby although the trams run every ten minutes to central Ghent (€2.20 return) and only take 15 minutes. We were glad that we had an "outside" room as the "inside" rooms look out over the atrium and don't get any fresh air - so make sure you ask for an even numbered room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased by the services offered by our team.
It is correct that our staff is very service focused and tries to be one step ahead to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. The quality of our large breakfast buffet is indeed of good quality and the dinner buffets are well varied.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my two sons. I found the service and the quality of rooms and food to be extremely good. Just everything that a little bit nicer and better than I expected, so I was very impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Family
Thank you for your impressive review and for qualifying all our targets on “Excellent”. We are happy that we succeeded again in delivering the Holiday Inn standards to you. We will never rest until our clients are leaving with a very good feeling.
We will be happy to welcome you again and to give you the service and product that you expect from Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Keep well and we thank you in advance to tell your friends and family about our hotel.
Yours sincerely

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
2.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: $91 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing