We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Great service”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

What makes this hotel is that the staff are really great - they are very professional, welcoming and helpful. It is a well run hotel and provides excellent value for money. The rooms are spacious and quiet. The hotel is very close to major roads (E40 and E17). It is about 5 km from the historic centre of Gent, and is quite easy to get there by tram. I have stayed at this hotel for six stays totalling about 15 weeks over the past year and there are few hotels that I would want to spend that much time in. That is the ultimate test - being happy with the service over an extended period. Thanks to the HI Gent team!

Room Tip: The Executive Guest rooms are excellent - very spacious and well appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 854DavidJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mr Johnston,
Many thanks for your kind words about our hotel and staff. I am very happy that you still enjoy your stay with us and that you keep returning with us. You are always more than welcome. As a regular guest you know the hotel better than any other guest.
Thank you for confirming that our staff is very service focused and tries to be one step ahead to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible.
On behalf of the entire team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcome you again at our hotel and to thank you personally.
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    271
    171
    50
    16
See reviews for
117
198
25
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Impeccable and professional welcome and check in,...special thanks to ace front desk personnel, Dominique and colleagues.
Lovely accommodation,...with notably efficient air conditioning.
Superb help and presentation from housekeeping and reception..."do not disturb" sign was completely respected, ... toiletry/snack supplies, etc., replenished very quickly and artistically, as and when required.
Restaurant and bar staff were most helpful and dedicated...all added to the pleasure of dining and drinking here...especially when seeing in the New Year!... (the music/entertainment was extremely enjoyable).
Given great support and help in respect of a car breakdown/problem.
All staff were exemplary and considerate, despite being understaffed during the Festive Season.
THANK YOU.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollambyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased by the services offered by our team.
It is correct that our staff is very service focused and tries to be one step ahead to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. Our front office team is indeed very welcoming. The quality of our New Years Eve gala diner was indeed of good quality. The band how entertained us all will come next year again. So book again for ‘New Year Eve 2013 – 2014’.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The staff were friendly and welcoming, the whole group were allocated their rooms very quickly (four coaches). Food, service and friendliness were top grade; we had a wonderful time. Many thanks to everyone there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased by the services offered by our team.
It is correct that our staff is very service focused and tries to be one step ahead to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. The band how entertained us all will come next year again. So book again for ‘New Year Eve 2013 – 2014’.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

For the price (€160 for two family rooms) I'd rate the Hotel as average-to-good. On arrival and departure we had two different people on reception and both were chatty, friendly and helpful. Like many Belgians they were fluent in English, French, German, and Flemish!

The rooms themselves were basic but comfortable enough for an overnight stay. The hotel is in easy access of the town centre (although a few miles on the outskirts). Although even with a satnav it's rather counter-intuitive on how to get to the hotel from the main road though and you feel like you are going round in circles!

A warning though - and the reason that this hotel is at best average rather than good - is that the parking is €10 per night on top, and breakfast is €15 per person on top! Not such good value. However as someone else has already mentioned - the IKEA is only 2 mins walk across the road and does a full cooked breakfast including tea/coffee for about €3!! We took their advice!

Summary - a basic, no frills base, which is reasonable value if you don't have breakfast there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyd_cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your feedback on our hotel. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased by the services offered by our team.
It is correct that our staff is very service focused and tries to be one step ahead to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. Our front office team is indeed very welcoming and speaks a large range of different languages.
Unfortunately that the value of our large breakfast buffets with different choices of cold and hot items were not at your expectations. If you compare the value at Ikea breakfast which consists of very limited offer. We believe that our price for our delicious breakfast buffet is quite interesting, especially when you prefer a good complete breakfast to start the day.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were prepared for the difficulty in accessing the Holiday Inn from the motorway and indeed it was as tricky as people described it having to go round the back of IKEA. (Idea: maybe draw a green line on the access road or similar?) The hotel itself is out of town but close to a tramstop into Ghent centre and near the Motorway network providing easy access to Brugges and towns further north in the Netherlands.

Check-in was a mixed bag as five coach parties arrived seemingly all at once completely overwhelming the solitary receptionist, after a 10 minute wait another receptionist arrived and duly checked us in. Despite the wait the staff were friendly and helpful and we were very pleased with our rooms which were a good size, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was superb and the whole ambiance of the hotel was great.
The only down-points were perhaps that we were not alerted that we had to book to eat in the restaurant on New Year's Eve and, with no room service, an anxious dash into Ghent for dinner was required. Also the daily parking fee of €9.50 was a bit steep but on the plus side all the staff were friendly and helpful so overall we liked the Hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You can probably find somewhere close tothe hotel to park and avoid the inflated parking charges
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased by the services offered by our team.
It is correct that our staff is very service focused and tries to be one step ahead to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. Our front office team is indeed very welcoming.
We apologize that we did not informed you that reservation was required for the ‘New Year Eve gala dinner’. I guarantee you that we will inform all guests next year.

On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Priceline bust. Supposedly a 4 star in Ghent. It's not a 4 star and not in Ghent.

Bathroom sink was rusty and old. Towels were dirty. Air was dry which made sleeping rather uncomfortable.

Hotel was entirely empty (likely meant for expo crowd but there was none when we were there) and dark.

Tram ride takes about 20 minutes to get to the city center and costs ~2 euros each way.

Priceline scam. Stay away if you can.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mtd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey of Holiday Inn Gent Expo. We apologize about your last experience in our hotel. The hotel is very close to the highway and has a large parking, which avoid the traffic and parking stress when entering the city centre by car. Our guests can take the tram to visit the beautiful historic heart of the city centre. Apparently you where not aware that the location of the hotel was not in the city centre. Although it is clearly specified on our website. We are aware about the conditions of the bathrooms but we are planning to renovate the bathrooms this year.

We need more details in order to avoid that kind of inconvenience in the future. Please send all information by email to my address: gm@higentexpo.com. We would be grateful if we could have your name and date of your stay.
We hope that in spite of your experience, Holiday Inn Gent Expo remains your next destination while in Gent.
Yours faithfully,

Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Holiday Inn Gent expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was an overnight stop for a weekend trip to Ypres and Brugges.

Good:
Very helpful staff on reception and for sorting out problems with rooms;
Heating worked well this time both in the atrium (for meals) and in the rooms (but it was not cold outside);
Bathrooms were good after recent refurbishment, clean and bright;
Brilliantly located next to the motorway, although slightly difficult to spot the relevant sign on entering the Expo complex;
Easy to locate if your Sat Nav app fails - just follow the signs for Expo;
Bed / sleep quality - excellent.


Not so good:
Needed two changes of rooms before the father-in-law could watch BBC channels (remote control did not work in first room, BBC not available in second room, third room okay);
Beware the Snacks on the evening menu in the restaurant - they are not small. We made the mistake of ordering soup as starters and found the spaghetti bolognaise a little overwhelming; The soup was only warm but the spaghetti was hot and both were very good quality;
Being English we expected (orange) marmalade to be available at breakfast but there were no staff visible at the time to ask. Apart from that there was a very good breakfast range;

In summary, an acceptable alternative if no value deals available at the Crowne Plaza in Brugges.

Would we stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: Main choice is between internal overlooking the atrium or external facing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo.

I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team. It is correct that our staff is very service focused and tries to be one step ahead to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for confirming that he quality of our dishes on the menu is indeed of a good quality.

We appreciate your useful suggestions about the snacks and breakfast. We discussed it with our head chef and he guarantee you that we will always have marmalade on our delicious breakfast buffet.

On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
2.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing