We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
92
231
155
39
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
92
231
155
39
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hi express car park parking charge kind of hotel family room an overnight stay bus stop city centre sofa bed base to explore leave the car room rate breakfast was included hotel restaurant business trip beds were comfortable room was large
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 527 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Really nicely decorated, clean, large family room. Good breakfast, nice warm bar and really helpful staff. Taxi for 7 people into the city cost 14 Euro. Would recommend Ghent and this hotel as a stopover.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank alisass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

During my stay the shower in my room was blocked and the maintenance man was off duty. the receptionist on duty was very helpful and fixed it straight away.he was friendly and courteous all weekend. Thanks Marco!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

Clean and tidy, with very polite and extremely helpful staff.
A hot breakfast would have been a bonus but can’t fault the hotel otherwise. Exactly as described on the tin!
Just outside of town- about 10 mins ride in a taxi from the station. Very easy to Travel to local destinations - but it would be a way to walk into the centre if that is the kind of hotel you are after!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Peasy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on way back from Switzerland. Hotel next to large hospital . The room was spacious and comfortable. Tea/coffee facilities plus coffee machine and fridge in the room. Nice shower with ample hot water. Had a very comfortable nights sleep. Good breakfast with a nice variety of produce. Ample safe parking onsite but you have to pay .Quite away from the tram stop/ bus stop and busses stopped running quite early so drove into Ghent which is a beautiful city well worth a visit. Will be back here both to Ghent and to stay at the hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

I do wish Expedia had info on hotels in constructions zones... The staff are lovely but the location and the work site are appalling. If you are given a great rate for a brand hotel, there is always a reason.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank newchannelmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear guest
I agree with you that the information given to guests should be as rich and accurate as possible. We work with all websites selling our hotel to keep this information up-to-date, within the limitations that each site shows hotel information in a uniform way.

That being said, it is correct that construction is taking place outside the existing building. The construction zone is well demarcated with fences and there are no noisy works going on that may hinder your stay.

Also, let's be honest, nobody selects our hotel location because of the nice views. There's a car park on one side and a bit of lawn and trees on the other side. Sometimes a fluffy rabbit if you're lucky...
Guests stay with us because we have a very central location near major motorways, good connection to the city center with public transport leaving just across the car park, very spacious rooms with free breakfast and reliable Wifi. And lovely staff as you have mentioned already.

I hope you will give us another chance, and we hope to see you again, in Gent...
Sincerely
Laurens Roels, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews