We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel let down by poor wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel let down by poor wifi”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

On the plus side, the Holiday Inn Express was clean and the bed comfortable with a choice of pillows. The wifi needs a lot of work though. It was okay in the late afternoon until a power cut across the whole hotel knocked it out (and everything electric apart from emergency lighting). so, that left a lot of work to do in the evening. But presumably as more people went online, the connection kept dropping and it was woefully slow before beoming non-existent by about 10pm. Note that this was the so-called "ultimate" wifi. The standard free version didn't work either.

That made it impossible to do any work online at all so I'd question the hotel's suitability as a business base. Aside from that it was as you'd expect (although the towels could have been bigger and the shower was turned down to 50% pressure for "ecological" reasons).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear David

We know there's a lot of hotels in Gent, so thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Gent.

With regards to the WiFi, it's worth noting that on Mon November 5th at 4.30 pm a high voltage cable was ruptured by a crane during road works nearby the hotel. This caused a blackout in big parts of the city [and also in our hotel] until 7pm.
Although our infrastructure is protected with backup batteries, the blackout has also impacted ISP infrastructure in the city such as datacenters, local hubs and switches, mobile telephone antennas etc.

This really was force majeure, and i thank you for your willingness to understand.

A tip for the shower:
The Holiday Inn Express Gent is Green Key certified, and water conservation is important to us indeed. The shower will only turn half way on with a stop in the middle. To get full pressure, just move the switch on the handle and turn it further.

Once again, thank you for informing us about your concerns. They help us improve our service.
See you again in Gent, next time?

Sincerely

Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    189
    128
    26
    5
See reviews for
135
79
13
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a well located hotel with easy access to the motorway approx 3 miles from the centre of Ghent and about 30 minutes drive to Bruge. The hotel has good parking availability and cost around 10 euros a day to park. There is an Aldi over the bridge but you need to drive into Ghent for a choice of restaurants and sights.

We stayed for three nights. The holiday is mainly aimed at the business market but was perfectly fine for a family of four. The rooms are quite spacious even with a double bed and a sofa bed and bathrooms are modern. We thought the shower was good. There was no bath. A kettle and tea and coffee are provided in the room. The TV has BBC 1 and BBC2 as well as BBC World and a range of European Channels. Pay per view movies are also available. The Wifi in our room had a strong signal.

The breakfast was a continental buffet including bread, preserves, pastries, cheese, bolied eggs. cold meats, juices, 5 cereals, tea, coffee, yoghurt and fruit salad. There was plenty of choice. My kids liked the chocolate sprinkles for cereal and the chocolate spread.

The hotel has a restaurant for dinner which we did not try. We did visit the bar several times. Most of the time it was very quiet so those who like a noisy venue might be disappointed but the bar has a reasonable selection of Belgian Beers and did not seem overpriced compared to other hotel bars which can overcharge. The bar also serves a small selection of baguettes and hot dishes.

Overall a good quality hotel, suitable for families with good parking and breakfast. However if you prefer a central location with everything within walking distance this is not the hotel for you. Those happy to drive and park in Ghent will find it more than satisfactory.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to the motorway. We were on the third floor not directly facing the motorway and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icelollyonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent review regarding the Holiday Inn Express Gent. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Gent a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing InterContinental Hotels Group.
Sincerely,

Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Have stayed here on a regular basis for a number of years. Always reliable and the restaurant is good. Friendly barman who's been there for years and is always attentive although bar itself is a bit spartan. It is out of town but very easy to get to from the motorway system. Wifi is reliable throughout hotel, even in the rooms farthest from reception.
Never tried the buses as the taxis are easy and not overly expensive.
People complaining about lack of bath should remember this is a Holiday Inn Express. They don't have baths! If you want a bath stay in the Holiday Inn but the restaurant isn't so good there.
Ideal for business or travel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ifand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Holiday Inn Ghent was a nice place to stay for a reasonable price. The room was clean and comfortable for three people, the breakfast was fantastic, and the location was very convenient to the motorway and Brussels. The hotel was not located near the downtown historic area, but it was not difficult to reach via automobile and parking was available downtown. There was also a nice restaurant and bar on site.

The only complaints I have were that parking was 10 €/night, and there was really no need, at least during the weekend, as it is not near restricted areas. A small complaint was that the shower curtain did not reach all the way to the bottom of the shower, so the water leaked onto the floor. ( a minor issue!)

Otherwise, I thought this was a clean, comfortable, reasonable hotel for the area and price.

Room Tip: Sofa bed is comfortable for 1 teenager, but probably not two. If you have two teenagers, you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcwyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel was excellent, we booked from England for a trip to the Netherlands to break our journey. We booked two family rooms rooms to accomodate us and our six children ranging from 21 down to 4 and as it was an online booking we had no idea what to expect when we arrived. However, the rooms were really clean, the extra sofa beds were already made up ready for use (I had expected to be asking for extra bedding etc to do the job ourselves) and breakfast was included. The breakfast was varied and filling. The ensuites didn't have a a bath which was very slightly disappointing but they did have a shower and it was scrupulously clean and well presented, new and modern, with towels and tolietries included. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was located in a fairly industrial place but it was exceptionally easy to find and there was loads of parking available. We loved it and would definitely stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

2 star quality for 4 star price. Plus added charge for parking, when there is nothing else around there. The only people parking at this hotel are actually staying there and not people just using the car park. Bathroom has a shower with a shower curtain, really how unpleasant is that? No fridge and no safe in the room, so u have to take everything with u when you leave the room. If this is indicative of Holiday inn express, then never again.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sufferfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear puhkface

I appreciate your taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

With regards to your opinion on the Holiday Inn Express brand, i can only agree that a bath, minibar and safe are not part of the standard features in our rooms. Holiday Inn Express is all about offering a fresh, clean, uncomplicated hotel choice where comfort, convenience and and friendly staff are important. And here in Gent, there's free breakfast and reliable WiFi included too.

For your future lodging needs, may i invite you to visit the IHG.com website to discover the many other brands we have to offer? With over 4,400 hotels worldwide, there is surely a brand that offers just what you're looking for. If you're visiting the Gent area again, the following IHG hotels do offer the features you find important :
Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4* ; (5 minutes by car from our location)
Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*+ and
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen 4*+ (both at appr. 35 minutes drive from Gent).

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing InterContinental Hotels Group.

Sincerely

Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and tidy. Staff are friendly and very pleasant. The restaurant is good and the breakfast is very good as it does not topically consist of croissants and budget cereals as many places do on this part of the continent. Massive car park and free eifi

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Chulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 37 in Ghent
616 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
2.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gent
Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St-Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. Tram 4 and Bus 8 stop at walking distance and will bring you anywhere in the city at regular intervals. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms. This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing