We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good position near trams” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good position near trams”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Yes, it's not the most wonderful hotel I have ever stayed in. 3 star I would say. There is limited reception availability as it clocks off sometime in the evening. However the reception staff were very helpful regarding trams and general information about Ghent. The trams are just opposite so keep the window closed if it opens on to the street as they start pretty early. Our bedroom had an extra bed for some reason. The bedding was very good and the bath towels also. The bathroom was quite small but absolutely fine. The carpet of the bedroom could have been a little cleaner, not from fluff but from something staining it some time ago. Restaurants in town are best but there is one nearby which is sort of ok and a couple of bars too. Breakfast good. Quite a variety of choices. We stayed here in a large group and were looked after quite well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    124
    54
    19
    2
See reviews for
33
86
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I am very disappointed by the stay at the Hotel - although the location is perfect - easy to get into town with the tram in front of the hotel - the rooms are really bad in sound proof .. you hear very loudly the showers of your next door room - door closure is loud and snoring or other hotel guest noise is very clearly in the room intruding. Really not the best service even when I asked or implemented in my booking a request for quit room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EricF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location for the train station and trams to the centre. Staff were pleasant and the breakfast more than adequate. Would recommend. There are a few restaurants and a nice friendly bar nearby. Must try the real ale !!

Room Tip: We had double room, which was at the rear and quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great location near train station, but not too close. Tram stop outside hotel gives excellent access to city centre.
Hotel is of an excellent standard, and with breakfast included makes it good value.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We wanted to visit Bruge, but it was booked out, and we settled for this place in Gent. This area is not cheap, but this was the best we could get. It is only 30 km away from Bruge and we thought we could cover it in one day or so. Gent itself was a very great surprise. We went out in the afternoon, had a fantastic dinner and walked around. At night they light up all the buildings in the downtown. Truly beautiful. Really a lively city. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We booked a triple room Hard to come by in general. We got a nice room. Otherwise we would have to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel sits on the tram line for an easy trip to the city center. Rooms were as nice as any 3 star in Europe. Breakfast was very good. Parking is an issue, but with a little planning can be dealt with. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again. The area restaurants are average...I'd look beyond the immediate location for a good place to eat.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rpmc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very well situated for exploring Ghent and the region, walking distance from the station and with a tram stop outside. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff, with a family feel to the place. Execellent breakfast served until ten o'clock. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A few rooms are available for smokers - as smoking rules are quite relaxed in Belgeum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
Address: Koningin Elisabethlaan 3, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cosy family hotel is the ideal base for your visit to the friendliest city in Flanders: Ghent. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade is a 3-star hotel situated in a residential area of Ghent, right next to St Pieters Station and within walking distance of the historic centre of Ghent. Tram 1 will take you to the city centre or Flanders Expo in a flash.Both tourists and rushed businesspeople can take a relaxing break from their busy daily lives at our hotel. Check in at our spacious reception area, then enjoy a relaxing drink from our bar in the lounge.Our tasty and extensive breakfast buffet is served in our beautiful breakfast restaurant, from where you can also enjoy a magnificent view of Ghent. Our hotel has 45 bedrooms with spacious bathrooms with bath or shower, flat screen with satellite tv, telephone and minibar. There are also facilities for making coffee and tea. BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade is located at 500m from the ICC Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ghent
Best Western Chamade
Ghent Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing