We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Chamade
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on recommendation from family who live on Belgian coast. Good location near to train station (we travelled from Ostend by train) Tram stop to Old Town and centre outside hotel and tickets can be bought from reception. Room not over large but clean and tidy, breakfast OK but what do you expect from a budget hotel. The old town was amazing, we took a boat trip and saw lots of hostelries we would not have found if walking. A trip to The Castle of The Counts is a must despite the exhibition of torture impliments and execution guilloteen. We were lucky , the sun shone and a good time was had. Defo would stay again as my son and his wife do frequently.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psyche12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 346 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel Chamade is quite poor compared with other BW hotels we have stayed in. Apart from being handy for the railway station there is not much going for it except the tram to the old town is right outside the door and very frequent taking less than 10 minutes. Tickets were one euro twenty and can be got from the hotel reception which was very small with a bar that must have closed before 10pm. Hotel staff were helpful and breakfast was efficient with a good selection of products. The major drawbacks to us were the stench of smoke in the corridors and the darkness of the narrow stairs - quite dangerous on my opinion. Bedrooms with free wifi were good but on the whole a very average hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We appreciated being out of busy Ghent centre near tram stop and station ,as quieter.Good hotel,would stay again.

Room Tip: May 2012-quiet corner room with bright bathroom,decent big bed,airy side window.Lovely buffet breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Arrived around 7pm last friday evening, and checked in, which was swift.
Got out of the lift and immediately noticed a stale smell, almost like an ask tray. Got to the room, and it was in a corner location, so it was a triangle shaped room.
Nice, airy, two windows and a desk with mini bar...all good so far, until we checked the bathroom...there were some long hairs in the corner, and the toilet itself was not properly cleaned...which made me reach. The shower plug was clogged and resulted in the shower becoming a small bath.
The location is far out of town, but the tram is right outside the door so not really an issue, and a taxi from the centre is 10 euro.
The next morning we asked reception how long can we leave the car on the street, only to be told that "I don't know, I cycle" which I found odd, as you do work in a hotel, and need to know about the parking facilities in the surrounding area. Especially since the hotel only has 6 spaces.
We found out that it was 2 euro for 4 hrs on the street!
Breakfast was fine, plenty of everything and more...80 per night with breakfast...
Will I go back, no.

Room Tip: room 217, street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The room was neat and clean. The places we needed to be were accessable both by tram and train. The staff were friendly. I enjoyed my 5-night stay there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMcPolokwane_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel is located about 3 minutes from the railway station. There is a tram stop right in front of it so getting to town is no problem during the day, but you will probably need a taxi if you stay out late.
The hotel has obviously been redecorated recently and the reception and the room were very nice. The corridors in between however are pretty scary - until you enter your room and realize that the room itself is nice and modern like the reception. The room was a good size, clean and modern, and the bathroom had a bath. The only (small) problem was the smell of smoke when we arrived. There was also a good selection of food for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank e-d15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just to keep it short:

Good:
- Price

Bad:
- Bathroom (smelly, and a lot of mold)
- Curtains, some were coming of the wall!!!
- Noise: There is a lot of noise from the area
- Location: Not centrally. a far walk from the citycenter
- Breakfast at exactly 7am, not 1 minute earlier!! Far too late for many business people!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoutAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
607 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel Ghent
Astoria Hotel Ghent
#8 of 38 in Ghent
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Chamade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Chamade

Address: Koningin Elisabethlaan 3, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $112 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Chamade 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cosy family hotel is the ideal base for your visit to the friendliest city in Flanders: Ghent. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade is a 3-star hotel situated in a residential area of Ghent, right next to St Pieters Station and within walking distance of the historic centre of Ghent. Tram 1 will take you to the city centre or Flanders Expo in a flash.Both tourists and rushed businesspeople can take a relaxing break from their busy daily lives at our hotel. Check in at our spacious reception area, then enjoy a relaxing drink from our bar in the lounge.Our tasty and extensive breakfast buffet is served in our beautiful breakfast restaurant, from where you can also enjoy a magnificent view of Ghent. Our hotel has 45 bedrooms with spacious bathrooms with bath or shower, flat screen with satellite tv, telephone and minibar. There are also facilities for making coffee and tea. BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade is located at 500m from the ICC Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Chamade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ghent
Best Western Chamade
Ghent Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing