We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre name, great beer selection”

Het Waterhuis aan de Bierkant
Ranked #16 of 869 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Mainly a beer heaven with some food to help it down, alongside the canal
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bizarre name, great beer selection”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Het Waterhuis aan de Bierkant, which apparently means the "water house on the beer side", has a great selection of beers and is very popular due to its superb location on, you guessed it, the waterside. The service isn't fantastic, but the quality of the drinks and extensive list should be enough of a distraction. It's not too expensive, but by no means the cheapest place around. However, if you've spent the morning and early afternoon exploring the city, this is the perfect place to sit and unwind, especially in summer. They do also seem to have an indoor area, for visits later in the year, or when tourists nab all the tables.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriskking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    199
    37
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great! And very busy...”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This place has many beers to choose from. If you like Belgium beer, go here! They also have a very impressive selection on draft.
We like this place very much. Staff is friendly and very busy because this place is just attractive for a lot of people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Huge selection of beer but service lets it down”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I went to Ghent with a couple of friends for a weekend break and heard that this was one of the best bars to go to. They had a beer menu on the table that was full of different drinks and so many to choose from which was excellent. After selecting our drinks, we sat at the table for roughly 15 minutes before anyone walked past us. We managed to grab hold of a waiter, ordered our drinks and food and then waited for a further 15 minutes before our drinks and half of our food came. I would probably go back to see if we went on a bad day as there was a nice atmosphere but hopefully the service improves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not very friendly but great beer list and pretty location”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We didn't have food so not sure about that. Lots of beer on the list. And you can't beat the canal-side location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank megnd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loads of beers, picturesque setting”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

At the side of a canal, this is where I sampled my first proper Belgian beer, selecting some really tasty dark Trappist varieties. It was fairly busy, and probably a bit tourist-y, but the prices were good and the beer selection extensive. The waiter who served us at the table was very knowledgeable, and helped with our choices (impressive on his first day!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Waterhuis aan de Bierkant also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Het Waterhuis aan de Bierkant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing