We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Ghent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof for 2 nights (29th-31st October) in one of their Deluxe rooms. We highly recommend staying in this hotel for a great visit to Ghent. First of all the room was wonderfully spacious, high ceilings with eclectic decor, lovely comfortable bed, fabulous spacious bathroom with rain shower, great smelling toiletries.

Secondly the hotel staff were wonderful - reception staff are friendly and efficient (a shout to Olof who was a gem). We received a great welcome and efficient check-in (i.e. hotel amenities explained - wellness spa, bar, restaurant, wi-fi access, directions and orientation of hotel in relation to museums, monuments etc.) They always have a welcoming smile, on hand to give great advice on things to do and best places to eat. We tried Ghent noses on their recommendation (and we will forever be grateful for this advice, it's the next best thing to the chocolates, frittes, moules and bier and now we're completely hooked!). Their recommendation of the Pakhaus restaurant was really good for best tasting mussels. A special mention too to a great housekeeping team - the room was spotless!

Finally, the location of the hotel is just perfect, in the centre of Ghent - close to Graslei and Korenlei, Gravesteen, St Michael's bridge, St Bava's Cathedral, and all major monuments and restaurants - all within walking distance.

We highly recommend staying here. We think Ghent is a gem of a place. It has everything you want for a great holiday - gastronomy, art, history, medieval buildings and friendly people. It's picturesque and eclectic! The Sandton Hotel made our visit even more special by looking after us during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank w0rldwidew0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,433)
There are newer reviews for Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 3,433 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked a long time in advance, mentioning our wedding anniversary. We checked in and found candies with a card and balloon on our bed as a little token of attention for the anniversary, which was very nice. The hotel is beautiful, everything was very neat and the staff very polite and kind and helpful, from receptionists to breakfast area. Breakfast buffet is very extensive, there's surely something for everybody's liking. The living and sitting areas are a nice plus. The bathroom was very nice, wish I had one like that at home ! The wellness was quite busy and the pool is quite small, so we did not use these facilities despite our plan to. Bathrobes and slippers provided by the hotel. Another plus is on the day of departure, we could leave our car in the covered secured car park the whole day. This hotel absolutely deserves the 4 stars.

Room Tip: We liked our room 3rd floor street side. No balcony, but also no noise so it was fine. It was a de...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had originally planned to stay at another hotel in Ghent, one closer to the train station, but the reviews of this one on Tripadvisor convinced me to give it a try. I'm very glad I did!

It is a beautiful property. You are greeted by a friendly, professional staff at the front desk and the service never faltered from there. The room had that sense of quiet solidity that is the hallmark of an excellent 4-star. The water was very hot, and water pressure good. The complimentary bottle of drinking water was room temp, of course... anyway the shower fittings were gorgeous. Excellent wi-fi, no password required (thank you Reylof). Breakfast was fantastic.

Only small negative was that the bath towel was a little skimpy. Oh, and there was no washcloth supplied - I mentioned this at the front desk and they said that washcloths are available by request only. A tiny quirk from a first class 4-star hotel in a vibrant, charming city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my short stay at the Sandton. I only stayed 2 nights during the Film Festival, but was able to really enjoy most of the amenities in the establishment. Their rooms upstairs for entertaining were beautiful and classic. I really felt grand walking up the spiral staircase and enjoying drinks and conversation in their stately rooms. The hotel's bar had a great selection of beers and snacks. Breakfast was delicious with tons of options. Nice (yet tiny) gym and pool. Great staff!

The room was my least favorite. I did not like the layout, nor the crazy colored corridors leading you to the room. The bed and linens were fine. Very minor compared to all the good items within the hotel. I never spend time in my hotel room when I travel anyways.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taurenlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed overnight in a charm room which was fairly small but very comfortable & very clean. Bathroom was a very good size, no bath but a huge shower - toilet was squeezed into a bit of a tight corner of the bathroom. Towels could be bigger but bathrobes and slippers are provided. TV had English BBC1 & BBC2. Free Wi-fi available. Hotel throughout was decorated to a high standard. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not use the restaurant but enjoyed a relaxing drink and coffee in the bar. Secure parking available for 20 euros per night but cannot be booked in advance. The hotel is a short walk from the historic part of Ghent which is lovely to wander around during the day but particularly lovely lit up at night. We would definitely stay at this Hotel again and maybe use the wellness centre next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryR820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We held a conference with our sales partners in this hotel for 1.5 days (in total about 25 people) . Compared to the other hotels in this price range they really stand-out. This is due to the attention to detail and the professional people who work in the hotel. We had both dinner and lunch which was of an excellent quality. For the dinner we did ask if they could speed up the service which they did promptly. You find many different types of rooms in the hotel where you can sit back, read, work on your laptop or just enjoy a coffee. The building is a former historical building but tastefully decorated. Parking is close: both at the hotel and the Parking "Ramen" is just nearby. All is on walking distance from the center.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel Reylof is a beautiful hotel. It combines the features of the historic building with a modern decor. The room was nice and clean and had a comfortable bathroom. We had dinner in the hotel the first night; although it is a bit more expensive than other restaurants in the area, the quality of the food made it worth the price. The restaurant was completely full both nights we stayed, so I would advise anyone who wishes to dine here to make a reservation.
The hotel is ideally located if you want to explore Gent. Just turn left when you walk out the front door and you will be in the hart of the city, near all the sights, in 5 minutes. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. Especially the reception staff.
Breakfast has everything you would expect from a luxury hotel; a wide range of fresh products.
This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Gent, as It is by far the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milos456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
995 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
1,008 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $138 - $928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing