We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in Ghent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great stay in Ghent”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a tour. The building, room, and sauna very nice, we did have a few minor issues but the guest services manager was very helpful and made a great effort to assist us.
We would recommend this hotel, particularly suited we thought for business travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,080
    931
    151
    32
    11
See reviews for
356
1,869
69
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Situated close to the beautiful centre of Ghent, yet quiet, remaining separate from the hustle and bustle of tourists, this is a hotel worth staying at.

I stayed for two days with my wife and nine year old daughter. We were given a large room with mezzanine floor with a double bed on this floor for our daughter.

The local spa has a pleasant if small pool which we used on both days of our stay. The bar and restaurant provide excellent service. The wine list and menu are apetizing and many fine wines are available by the glass. Service is again excellent. The food is artistically and well presented and tasty.

Breakfast is second to none, with an extensive range of food both hot and cold.

An excellent stay in a fine hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Design is great, most rooms are spacious, clean and functional without being luxurious though.
What could improve is the friendliness of some staff, the exterior signage for the hotel parking and the irritating music during breakfast.
The restaurant serves very good food, but portions of main courses are for small eaters only.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with LARGE windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed 1 night in the deluxe room, although we did not particularly like gent itself we loved the hotel. The staff were really friendly and when we arrived in the beautiful room we found a small box of traditional gent sweets, a balloon and a lovely card wishing us a happy wedding anniversary-this was a lovely touch and we really appreciated this.
Our room was on the 3rd floor and overlooking the lovely, quiet garden which is a stark contrast to the outside of the hotel/centre of gent! The breakfast consisted of cooked eggs of your choice, fresh fruit, toast, bacon, sausages, pancakes, cold meats, cheese, cakes etc again very nice.
Overall, a lovely hotel and one I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: book a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latestfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This must be one of the best hotels in Ghent. A fantastic setting, beautiful interior and garden. The bar and library are charming. Rooms are spacious and well decorated, clean and have all ammenities available. The restaurant is nice, however the food itself is average during diner. Breakfast on the other hand is fantastic!
We definetly will be back.

Room Tip: We chose the charming room, and were amazed by the comfort it had to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimVerbraeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for as base for small conference along the road. A shairt taxi ride form the St Pierre railway station. Clean and smart althougfh a few roadworks outside and to an adjacent property did mean that there was a hop, skip and a jump to get in and out. Do not bring a car - no parking at hotel and no guarantee of any in immediate vicinity. Hotel is well situated in old town area with all key tourist destinations in easy reach. Rooms were reaonably spacious and we took one with a balcony looking into pleasant courtyard. Access to rooms was by means of a single elevator so a bit of a wait at times or a climb up cigarette smoke tainted stairs. Lack of drarwers and stirage space if you are staing for more than a couple of day. Great shower, plenty of room and designed well for the taller person.
Sevice excellent and very pleasant. Excellent buffet breakfast with wide reange of hot and cold, pastries, croissants etc. Food was excellent in teh evening. Absolutely no hestiation in going back to this hotel in future.

Room Tip: room with balcony overlooking garden were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Couldn't recommend this place more. We had a beautifully decorated room that was very clean. The staff were very friendly, and the beer was even better.

I highly recommend the breakfast buffet, as well as checking out the spa - they even have epsom salt to bathe with.

We only stayed one night but will be back for many more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
950 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing