We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, even better cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms, even better cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here three times already, and every time was a pleasure. The rooms are great, the staff is always very helpful and friendly, and it's hard to get a better rate for this type of quality in Ghent. I would also very much recommend the restaurant, and I guess my only complaint is that the cocktail bar isn't open 24/7 as they serve the best cocktails in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fakerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,552
    689
    105
    27
    9
See reviews for
262
1,365
59
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The Reylof is located just outside the historic centre - a couple of minutes walk to St Michaels Bridge on rather a tatty street with lots of renovation going on. The hotel itself looks splendid though and once through the front door it is truly magnificent. A real successful blend of old and contemporary.

Check in was efficient and fast. Our 'cosy' room was spacious and well appointed with a nice quality marble bathroom. The room, along with all the public areas was spotless.

Breakfast could not be faulted - great choice and great service.

The garden was also pleasant and the spa area looked great although we didn't use it.

All in all a highly recommended hotel that offers stylish accommodation and a great quality feel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminCT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It's the perfect place in the perfect city. 5 minutes walking distance from downtown. A beautiful Hotel with the best staff. I asked for several things and they helped me with everything. It's a 4 star Hotel but could easily be a 5. We went on a trip to Belgium, to Brussels, Brugges and Gent and this Hotel was our main base. Gent is beautiful and this Hotel makes it even better. It's a pleasure to recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room. They are perfect and quiet. If you can get an appartment, better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel_DelaGarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is a short taxi ride from the train station (8.50 Euro). The staff I encountered were helpful and pleasant, willing to answer questions about the hotel and Ghent area. The city center is an easy walk for dining and shopping.

It is nice to have a balcony to sit on in the morning/evening. The complimentary wifi worked flawlessly and was adequate for my business needs (email/browsing).

The staff called for a taxi for each morning (this was a business visit).

This is not a plain or boring place to stay. See the pictures on the hotel website or here.

Room Tip: I had room 447, which is away from the elevator towards the end of the hallway. This was a quiet lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed the four of us in two standard rooms in the hotel, they were comfortable and great. Very nice beds, good bathrooms, wehe you can shut the toiletdoor, and quiet at night.
The hotel facilities are fine: bathrobes and slippers to walk to the gym, the pool or the sauna, which are located in a nice buildign in the garden. The hotel is renovated in a good mix of old and modern. The sitting area's downstairs are nicely decorated and inviting to sit. We didn't use breakfast there, thougt it was too expensive, but it looked very good. We ate in one of the many coffee & breadcafe's in the neidgboorhood. Gent is lovely to stroll around and the hotel is nearly in the centre, a few minutes walk from St. Michaelsbridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UtrechtMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Highly recommend this Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof!!
Stayed in the beautiful original renovated historic building for three nights. As the other reviewers have said, the cocktail lounge is beautiful and cozy. Thierry, the awesome bartender in the cocktail lounge, makes excellent tasting cocktails such as a "Forbidden Fruit" and "Lady Killer".
As for giving excellent customer service, Nikolaas De Boot (Front Ofc Mgr), Gie, Laura and a few others went above and beyond during our stay. Location of the hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was again a pleasure to be guests in this beautiful modern decorated historic hotel in the centre of this nice old city Gent. It is amazing how the staff makes you feel you are VIP's.
This time we were visiting Sandton for the weekend with our 3 teenagers and even they said this hotel was special! They liked the rooms, the beds, the beautiful decoration, the nice bathrooms etc., etc. Like we did.
This hotel tries had to make you feel you're home. And they succeed!
Our stay was splendid!

Room Tip: The rooms in the old part of the complex a very very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€21/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing