We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the historic area along the canal. It has a very nice patio/garden area with relatively quick service for an afternoon drink. The hotel itself is a combination of historic and modern. My room was very new with modern fixtures and it was quite large for a European hotel although the shape of the room was a bit odd. The hallways are very winding and the hotel elevators had mutliple levels (1A, 1B etc) which made getting to and from your room confusing. Tolietries included shampoo (no conditioner) lotion and shower gel along with an the standard cotton ball Q tip kit. Bathroom had a big walk in shower (although I do hate the half door European showers after countless trips I still flood the bathroom). Breakfast was an expensive E 20 if not in your room rate and included the standard fare eggs, bacon, sausage, cheese, granola etc.

Room Tip: There is road noise from the street side rooms. There are interior and alley rooms which may be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 3,488 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

A great hotel with a beautifull interior.
We went for a city trip in ghent, wonderfull weather and a hotel with everything you need.
A star restaurant ! A huge bar and cosy coctailbar.
The staff is very friendly .
the rooms are very clean and very nice !
We loved this hotel and we will come back to Sandton grand reylof !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhonny366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

To celebrate love, my boyfriend and me stayed one night at this amazing hotel, in the grand suite. I live in Ghent, allready slept in different hotels there and I still think that Sandton Reylof is the best of all. Great service, friendly staff, cosy and spotlessly clean wellness/spa, fabulous interior, perfect location (Center of Ghent).

They say, 'Paris is the city of love'. But...
If you visit Ghent, Sandton is definitely the hotel for romance.

Enjoy Life, enjoy love, enjoy Sandton.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We travelled to Gent for a wedding and stayed at the Sandton Hotel. We were there for 3 nights, it was wonderful. Extremely quiet and you would never know there were so many people staying there at any given time. We had the breakfast each morning. One of the best that we have ever had at a hotel. highly recommended this place. the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. there was a large group of us staying here, had negotiated an extremely good rate. Will definitely stay there again.

on a down side, I had to ask for my towels to be changed after 2 days, normally not a problem but were not dry from the previous shower 12 hours earlier.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights as part of our anniversay weekend away. We drove and did not arrive until 1am on the Friday night. This was not a problem and the reception staff were really helpful and very welcoming. They explaned the location of the car park and once we had taken the car and dropped it off, the reception lady met us and took us to our room.

Room was lovely. It was spacious enough for 2 and the bathroom was large. We had only booked a cosy room but it was brilliant. When we asked for n ironing board it was brought striaght up to the room. The only problem we found was that there was no tea making facilities in the room which being English, we missed. The bed was massive and really comfortable.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel althought what we saw of breakfast looked good. We chose to visit a little street cafe in Ghent.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk into the centre which means it was peaceful at night as Ghent itself was quite lively.

We ate the best fondue at the Foudue restuarant in the centre of the town.

All in all, we will return and also use other hotels in this chain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel, and our rooms were upgraded to suites as we booked direct with the hotel reception. The Reylof is a short walk from the centre of glorious Ghent, and there are several very good restaurants nearby (we had a wonderful meal at the Coeur d'Artichoke).

Staff were very friendly, rooms were well appointed and spotlessly clean, with a beautiful bathroom (and great shower) and small kitchen area with fridge and microwave, plus flat-screen TVs in the living area and the bedroom. Best of all, we were not woken in the morning by housekeeping banging on the door!

The hotel has a very attractive courtyard garden where drinks and meals can be taken if the weather allows.

The only criticism I have is the poor service we endured at dinner on our first night, when the service was unbelievably slow (90 minutes to produce burgers which were not cooked as requested). Despite the disappointing meal and the fact that we had to repeatedly ask for our food, and pointed out several times that neither the food or the service was up to standard, the waiting staff declined to offer any discount on our bill.

That aside, the experience was very good, and we used the hotel as a base to travel to Antwerp, Bruges, Flanders Fields and Brussels. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and get a free room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Reylof has a cocktail bar and a general bar. However, the cocktail bar opens only Wednesday to Saturday. As I was there on a Tuesday evening, I moved to the general bar and asked for a Dry Martini. That was not possible - a Martini is a cocktail, and can be served only in the cocktail bar, which was closed. The waiter actually got irritated when I tried to argue that a top class hotel should be able to serve one of the world's most popular bar drinks even on a Tuesday.

Otherwise, everything was ok - the room well-appointed, even though a bit cramped, and with a lighting system that I learned to handle first the next morning. The breakfast was very good. The staff is young (some still under training, it seems) and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 38 in Ghent
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $144 - $883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing