We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Absolutely one of the best hotels I have visited in Flanders! Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, great cocktails and fantastic food, the location is near to the center of the city,... I can't say anything bad about the Reylof Hotel! Good job!

Room Tip: We had a room in the front side (historic) of the hotel. Really amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadissonBluParkLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,090
    935
    153
    32
    11
See reviews for
359
1,879
69
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Really beautiful hotel. The location of the hotel is very close to the city centre but still quite enough.
The staff at the hotel were ok, the staff was professional but not very warm, strangely enough they all seemed to be Dutch and not Belgian. The room itself was big enough only the bed is horrible. The bed was far too soft and the pillows were too high. The hotel building itself is beautiful but very confusing (I would have never been able to find the fire exit in case of an emergency).
There was a brand new health centre with swimming pool, gym, sauna and hamman which was amazing after a long day. Overall it was an excellent hotel and by far the best hotel in Gent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurits582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerpen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

we had a nice stay , clean rooms ,friendly staff. close to city centre .only thing bathroom very small .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjenAntwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel is beautiful, in a great location, with really nice rooms, and a very friendly staff. However, when we traveled with a group of co-workers, there were many, many problems. First was that we had a reservation, and had alerted the hotel of the time we would arrive. There were 12 or 13 rooms in our group, and when we arrived, we were told none of the rooms were ready. NONE. So our group sat and waited, and waited. We asked for the internet passcode so that at least we could keep busy while we waited, but were told the internet was not working. Finally after about half an hour of waiting, they gave us the keys to our rooms.
The rooms were spacious and well-decorated, beautiful, but the beds were very low quality. None of our group slept well due to the beds.
We stayed for three days, and within the first 48 hours, for my room alone, we had to get the key cards re-programmed 7 times!!!! Because the rooms are in a different building, and our room was on the third floor, this was a huge pain in the butt. We would arrive, walk all the way to our room, find out the key didn't work, but then we had to go all the way back. Down to the main floor, outside through the terrace/garden area to the main building, to reception, and then all the way back to our room. One time, after doing this and getting my card re-programmed, I got all the way to my room and it STILL didn't work!!! So I had to do this all again. We were on a schedule, so this was very time-consuming and problematic.
The internet didn't start working until the morning of our last day there, which was also a huge pain. Most of our group needed to use the internet to communicate with people at home, and this created stress because it was not available.
One morning, at 6:30am, an alarm began sounding. I called reception thinking it was the elevator's alarm, only to be told it was the fire alarm, and that it had gone off because someone took a shower. WHAT?!?! A shower?!
The final straw for me was a few minutes later that same morning, at 6:45am, when a male employee of the hotel walked into our room using a key to enter, holding a rooming list. I and my roommate are both females. He did not knock, and since he had a rooming list in his hand, I am certain he knew the room was occupied. This to me was completely unacceptable. When I called reception, they confirmed he was an employee and simply said, "This was a mistake." Nothing more, just a mistake. As a female traveler, this is unbelievable to me! And the fact that they wanted to just gloss it over and call it a "mistake" made it even worse.

Overall, this is a beautiful hotel, in a great location, with (in general) very friendly and helpful employees, but the problems we encountered were pretty massive. Hopefully they figure out and solve these issues to make this hotel the top tier hotel it deserves to be!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Traveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had a marvelous weekend in Gent and the hotel definitely helped. The room was spacious with a nice terrace. Breakfast was absolutely delightful. The attention to decoration is very much appreciated (great paintings, original carpet etc.). The personnel was very friendly and professional. Truly an excellent choice! Okay, just a slight disappointment: instead of having a double bed, we had two twin beds (not ideal...)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnV14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great place to stay, clean, modern and well located to visit the city centre.
Great value for money hotel.
Parking close by and cheap.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Sandton is great hotel within real walking distance of the center. The building is a real 'wow' experience. The staff is very young and unexperienced, many interns and therefore it lacks a bit of personality and real professionanilsm. Wit this great hotel, the next step would be to invest in real professional staff and creating some heritage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White-House-Algarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
953 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing