We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly new and comfortable in Ghent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly new and comfortable in Ghent”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great place to stay, clean, modern and well located to visit the city centre.
Great value for money hotel.
Parking close by and cheap.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,928
    871
    141
    31
    10
See reviews for
330
1,730
66
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Sandton is great hotel within real walking distance of the center. The building is a real 'wow' experience. The staff is very young and unexperienced, many interns and therefore it lacks a bit of personality and real professionanilsm. Wit this great hotel, the next step would be to invest in real professional staff and creating some heritage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White-House-Algarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the reviews I read. Most reviews were super positive so I booked the gastronomic weekend. This included: free drink on arrival, stay in a Deluxe room, 5 course meal. When we arrived the receptionist asked at what time we would like our dinner, we made the reservation at 8pm. The free drink wasn't mentioned.
We came to our room which was very nice, clean, classy, new! The bathroom was magnificent. Combination carpet wall paper is all a buit kitsch but it suits the atmosphere. I must say the room was smaller than the ones I saw on the website. Of course they show the biggest rooms on the website but I always find this very misleading and wrong.
In the evening I mentioned that we didn't get our free drink so we got it then. When we arrived at the restaurant they didn't have our reservation. We had made this reservation 2 weeks in advance and was confirmed upon arrival. The restaurant was full so they had a problem. they did give us a table, but I don't know how they solved it with the others that were still to come... Dinner was very good, good chef. The waiters have a lot to learn still.
One last point of criticism. They have an underground parking but it was full all day. As they said at the reception desk "people who checked out left their car in the garage". This is not ok. either you make people book the parking space or you make sure people who check out take their cars with them. As a result we had to park in the street, take a new ticket every 3 hours and still end up with a parking fine because we were half an hour late to take a new ticket. This shouldn't have happened.
Over all: great rooms, the rest is still up for improvement.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht/ the Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Recently opened (half year ago), some facilities still under cosntruction, but already a jewel, worth every of its four stars. Warm welcome by Andre, reception swift and friendly, transformation of old hospital, beautiful application of excellent design, great rooms, great restaurant with excellent food. Sandton chain offers quite some interesting arrangements to promote its wonderful portfolio of hotels, so it's really an excellent idea to go here. Ghent -of course- is a great place to see.
Peter van Minderhougt

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petervanminderhout_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I was in this hotel during my business visit to Belgium and very pleased with the service and quality of the Hotel. They always made us very comfortable and was very helpful. Also it located in the heart of Gent city. All the shops and world famous building (kathedraals) are in walking distance.

Room Tip: Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinthaka_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Just renovated to a very high standard.
Courtyard rooms spacious with balcony.
Good bathrooms and plenty of space.
Public rooms are plentiful and comfortable.
Good reasonable bar.
Only downside is work still going on and spa closed plus smell of MDF and dust.
Once finished would rate higher.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurdevon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The room was cold when we arrived but the guy on the desk was very helpful and came up twice to sort it out. Only a small point but there was only short hanging space in the wardrobe, which is ok if you have a suit jacket but not long enough for even a short dress. I felt the room service was lacking, we came in at 10.30pm and had to order from a local takeaway as there was no room service available at that time. The common areas (bar etc.) were very nice. I have never been to Brussels before and therefore have no comparison to make with other hotels but not the best hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ssussan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing