We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost our orders, although they had no other customers waiting” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of t'Klokhuys

t'Klokhuys
Ranked #20 of 839 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lost our orders, although they had no other customers waiting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Klokhuys restaurant was a shockingly bad experience for us. The place totally lacked atmosphere and it was empty except a couple who was already eating their main course when we had arrived. We placed our orders and had to wait more than 1 hour only to be told they had a "computer problem" which resulted in our orders being lost... What, why didn't they just communicate /double-check with their cook, they didn't seem to have anything else to do at the time as no other customers were waiting for food! It is actually pretty hard for a restuarant to provide such appalling service. We just got up and left; during our extensive travels we never came across such bad service in a restaurant. Please avoid this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    196
    43
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good value, but the waiter is not polite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good value for traditional Ghent dishes. local people eat there as well. however, the waiter is too hurry to let us away after we finish the main course. he first asked us if we want to have any dessert, we said wait a second, and after less than 2 minutes we had some ideas about ordering some desserts, the waiter was rude and said to us to leave. After explaining to him that we really wanted some dessert because it was the birthday of one of our friends, he finally agreed but ask us to leave in 15 minutes...it is not polite at all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank y h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good local food in nice local atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

In the 'patershol' area there are plenty of restaurants. This restaurant is touristic but has still an authentic atmosphere with good Flemmish food, beers and a friendly staff.
Prices are reasonable compared to other restaurants in this area.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wLeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beef was amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Awesome food, I had the steak which was brilliant, girlfriend had the beef stew again excellent, was a excellent find!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craigs4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were in Ghent during the festival and everywhere looked expensive for what they were (22 euros for mussels and chips??). We went here because of a review in a guidebook and weren't disappointed.

The menu was limited, because of the festival I guess but my son raved about his steak (although he didn't rate the chips particularly). I had waterzooi with chicken. A huge tureen arrived with half a chicken some carrots, leeks and potatoes all in a lovely slightly herby sauce. Good plainish Flemish food I guess. The staff were nice and efficient but the service was a little slow, we got there a bit late I think. Overall v nice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KDJ54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed t'Klokhuys also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to t'Klokhuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing