We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The annexe experience”
Review of Etablissement Max

Etablissement Max
Ranked #16 of 17 Dessert in Ghent
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The annexe experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I would have rated this more highly if we had not been stuck in the annexe to the main cafe, which is unfortunately totally devoid of atmosphere and with a large sliding door which banged into me at intervals. The waffles, however, are good. Not cheap, but quality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    99
    73
    67
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Icing sugar indulgence”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Taking a family of 5 into Max, I knew it was likely to be quite expensive for a lot of hot air; waffles and whipped cream being the most insubstantial of foods - but they really enjoyed it. Somehow the glass chandeliers and 'Sunday' ambience of gentility was entirely fitting for a calorie laden indulgence of sweetness. It did leave me 50 Euros lighter for 15mins of pleasure but there was enough ambience and the service was attentive enough that I didn't feel cheated at all. If you want a waffle experience to remember then Max will fit the bill.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillLJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss when visitng Ghent”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We found the restaurant by accident, but food and service were excellent in a nice athmosphere.
Don't eat too much in order to be able to taste the famous wafers!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlfredENeumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very bad”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

i was there and i will never go back, the chef kook was very bad man he was really unpolite....................

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
211 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Check the Time Before You Go!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Because of construction around the Gent cathedral is was a bit hard to find Max, but with some help from local shops we found our way there. By the time we got seated it was about five minutes after 2pm. When I tried to order a sandwich, I was informed that he kitchen closed at 2pm, we were too late, and I could order only drinks and waffles or pancakes.

I had a beer.

My companions ordered the fruit covered, one pancake and one waffle. Both looked good with lots of fresh fruit and tons of whipped cream.

I wanted a sandwich.....

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etablissement Max also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Etablissement Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing