We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, in pleasant location.”
Review of Europa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Situated by the river in a pleasant suburban area, this hotel may feel too far away from the centre to be considered. However, the hotel itself is modern, quiet, clean and with good, convenient parking facilities. The breakfast was good, too - especially the coffee. But the best thing, for us, was the walk along the river to the historic centre. It took us about 25 minutes and was a real pleasure, along quiet roads with interesting buildings on the way. It's a great place to stay if you're en route to Germany, as we were. The only improvement I could suggest would be the insect screens in the window of our room, which was defective. it didn't bother us, but in high summer, the river may harbour mosquitoes, which may disturb the sleep of hotel visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Europa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 238 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent one night at the Europahotel and it met all our requirements. The hotel is located about a 25 minute walk from the centre of Gent, a taxi back cost us about €12 which seemed quite expensive. We chose the hotel for the free parking and found it a good base for cycling on the canal. There is quite a lot of free parking but time your arrival right so other guests have checked out and left some spaces free! The hotel also offers underground parking for €10 a night.

The hotel was clean and comfortable and there was a good choice for breakfast, although watch out for cold eggs and bacon!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We could not fault the hotel or the staff. They even offered undercover parking for my motorbike free of charge. Although the hotel is a bit out of town, we took a slow walk in which was around 30 minutes. A taxi costs just over 8 Euros and the bus is 2 Euros

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is evidently aimed mainly at business users for corporate events. There is no seating in the reception area, just tables set out with coffee cups for all the delegates. The bistro is expensive, and is likely to attract only people on expense accounts. Car parking is free on site, but the site is invariably full of company cars. You can park for free on the street, with a token obtainable from reception, but this has to be renewed every 2 hours, which is hopeless if you want to leave your car while you go out for the day. There is also underground parking, but this costs 10 euros per 24 hours. Breakfast is OK for a 3* hotel, although the corporates will have helped themselves to all the hot food by 8:00 am, and you can’t guarantee that supplies will be replenished. Our room was quite large and functional, with a smart ensuite. The beds sagged and the mattresses clearly needed replacing. There’s no complimentary tea making facilities, but the reception staff willingly filled our thermos flask on several occasions during our 3 day stay. The free wifi is slow, but it gets there in the end. The actual location of the hotel is better than we had expected; it’s a pleasant 30 minutes walk along the river bank to the old town, or you can take the tram (number 4 or 24) from the bridge a few minutes walk from the hotel. You can also walk to the rail station in 10 minutes, where you can take the tram number 1, and also buy a very economical multi-ticket, good for 10 journeys on the tram and bus. If you are driving to the hotel, it’s quite easy to find from the N466, with the hotel being well sign posted. Altogether, this is a convenient place to stay if you are a tourist, but be prepared for its faults.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Recently renovated hotel. Since located a bit outside de center there is normally sufficient parking place in the street for the ones coming by car.
The room and bathroom were clean, spacy and well equipped. The isolation however could be better. My son was complaining about the noise next door.
The reception was friendly. Only remark is that there is not a single chair or fauteuil in the lobby. So if you are waiting it will have to be standing.
The breakfast is buffet type with a good choice. We needed a table for four and this was clearly an annoying request for the waitress.
Overall a dull but affordable hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarKno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Quite far from the historic centre, just still connected well with bus and tram ways...
also accessible to city centre by 40 min walk...
Rooms were not so big, but ok..
no kettle or other facilities in room other than internet..
heating was not working.. even after we complained about it..
rooms were clean though..
and room service was great...
Breakfast buffet could have been a bit better..
overall, not a very good deal for the price paid...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuroGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Couldn't fault the rooms great size and very clean, en-suite facilities very good. but would benefit from tea/coffee facilities.
Most of the staff were approachable and friendly.
Breakfast very disappointing, they served meat and egg products in the same dish, should be kept separate to cater for vegetarians.
We used the underground car park at a cost of 10 euro for 24 hrs.
Historic town centre about 30/40 minutes walk, be careful not to get lost, follow the waterways.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europahotel_11, Front Office Manager at Europa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed our rooms and en-suite facilities.
We are sorry to hear that our breakfastbuffet was not to your liking. Thank you for the suggestion of separating the eggs and the meat, this is something we will certainly take into consideration.

Regards,
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.2 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#7 of 37 in Ghent
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Address: Gordunakaai 59, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $96 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy family-run hotel, quiet and yet centrally situated. Completely renovated, re-opened since the 5th of May 2011. At 800 m from St. Pieters’ Station (main station), 1,5 km from the city-centre. Public transport to the city centre at 400 m from the hotel. Easy access to the motorways E17 and E40. Close to Flanders Expo and the Congress centre. The hotel is overlooking the ‘Golden River’, the Leie and is located near the Watersportbaan and the Blaarmeersen and the Topsporthal. The hotel also offers you parking facilities - there’s private parking next to the hotel as well as an underground garage. 41 comfortable rooms, fully equipped with private bathrooms with bath or shower, telephone for local communication and abroad, colour television with remote control, etc…24 hour service! Free Wifi in the lobby, bar and rooms. Bistro Gorduna offers lunch and dinner with a daily menu or "a la carte." Bistro closed on Saturday afternoon and Sunday. 4 Meeting rooms with a capacity of 5 to 280 persons, perfect for seminars, congresses, business lunches, conferences, banquets and other arrangements. In a word, our hotel offers you a cocktail of hospitality, comfort and modern facilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing